Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to the Library's course page for Advanced Writing in the Arts, Media, and Design!
In this guide, you can find the resources, tutorials, and librarians that can guide you as you develop as a writer and communicator in this course. Many of these resources can be used to research your topic or to find examples of writing in your field.
Get started with Scholar OneSearch
Scholar OneSearch can be a great place to start your research. Search results include books (both electronic and print), articles, videos, data sets, and more. Here are some tips on how to use it most effectively.
Search within the below resources to research a topic, as well as to locate examples of writing in your field from a variety of publication types and formats. This can include scholarly or peer-reviewed articles from academic journals, articles from magazines or newspapers, exhibit or book reviews, and more.
A multidisciplinary database featuring scholarly articles and books from the art, humanities, social sciences, and other disciplines. Use the Advanced Search option to focus your search in journals for architecture, art, communication studies, film, journalism, music or the performing arts.
Academic Search Complete (Ebscohost)
A multidisciplinary database useful for researching a broad range of topics. Includes newspaper, magazine, scholarly peer-reviewed articles, and more.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals (ProQuest)
This architecture-focused database is a great place for researching buildings and architects. It also offers examples of writing from academic journal articles, magazine articles, exhibition reviews and published interviews.
E-books and other digital materials from the arts, design, theory, and architecture fields. Includes examples of artists’ e-books, zines, screenplays, pamphlets, podcasts, filmed lectures, typefaces, and more. Some items require registration (free) to view.
Access World News Research Collection (Newsbank)
Access World News includes current and archived news content spanning 200+ countries and territories, combining all formats – full-text articles, web-only content, PDF image editions – in a single interface. Deep global and local news coverage.
CAMD Research Subject Guides
For a more comprehensive list of resources and tools in your area of study, explore the guides supporting CAMD subject areas listed below:
Depending on your topic, you may find other subject guides relevant. Browse the complete list of subject guides!
Support from Northeastern's Writing Center includes:
- Writing Resources - for topics like grammar and style, vocabulary, revision techniques, support for multilingual writers, and other campus resources.
- Tutoring services - book an appointment for free help with brainstorming, planning, researching, organizing, drafting, revising and using sources.
Need help with citations and bibliographies? Check out our Citations and Bibliographies Guide!
Contact your librarian! Click on the name of the subject librarian below for their contact information and to access their online scheduler for making one-on-one appointments:
(Architecture, Art and Design, and Game Design)
(Communication Studies, Journalism, Theatre & Performing Arts)
There are other ways to contact a librarian for help: