Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Get started with Scholar OneSearch
Scholar OneSearch can be a great place to start your research. Search results include books (both electronic and print), articles, videos, data sets, and more. Here are some tips on how to use it most effectively.
Background on your topic
Reference databases and encyclopedias don't offer up-to-the-minute research, but they do provide important context and background information on a broad array of topics.
A selection of reference databases is listed below. You can also browse the complete list on the library's website.
While Scholar OneSearch is a great place to start your research, subject-specific databases can give you more focused results. You can start with these:
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Strong in the humanities disciplines, this database features books/chapters and articles from university presses and scholarly societies. Easy to use with all content in PDF format.
Web of Science
A large multidisciplinary database that includes academic articles, research reports, book chapters, conference papers and proceedings, and more. Allows you to see who has cited a paper or book and how many times.
Even more search engines and databases for your discipline are available on these guides:
or view a complete list of our guides by subject.
Tutorial: Finding Peer Reviewed Articles (PDF version)
Ask Your Librarian
You can contact your subject specialist librarian by clicking on their name below or by navigating to their subject guides:
Have a quick question or need immediate help? Ask Us!
Need help with writing?
Support from Northeastern's Writing Center includes:
- Writing Resources - for topics like grammar and style, vocabulary, revision techniques, support for multilingual writers, and other campus resources
- Tutoring services - book an appointment for free help with brainstorming, planning, researching, organizing, drafting, revising and using sources.