Key Resources
indicates that you may be asked to login with your Northeastern credentials, including DUO authentication.
indicates that you can sign up for free with a Northeastern email address.
- Access World NewsAccess World News includes current and archived news content from more than 12,700 sources spanning 200+ countries and territories.
- AP Stylebook OnlineProvides an A-Z guide to usage, spelling, and punctuation according to Associated Press standards. Ten concurrent users are allowed.
- Communications and Mass Media CompleteProvides quality research in areas related to communication and mass media. This database includes full text for 326 journals.
- FactivaIncludes access to the Wall Street Journal, Barron's, and hundreds of other international newspapers. Access limited to 5 simultaneous users.
- Sage Journals OnlineIncludes the full text of 555 journals, 1999 to current, many of them related to communication and media studies.
- State House News ServiceSince 1911, the State House News Service in Boston has provided journalists, lobbyists, government officials and other civic and business leaders with high-quality, comprehensive, objective information about the activities of state government year-round.
Commonly requested newspapers
indicates that you can log in or sign up for free with a Northeastern email address.
- Boston Globe Online (2015-present)Full-text access to articles from BostonGlobe.com. Note: special editions, audio/video features, and interactive material may not be available.
- Chronicle of Higher EducationOn campus, simply navigate to chronicle.com. For off-campus use, sign up with your Northeastern email address for unlimited access via chronicle.com.
- Financial Times (London)Sign up with your Northeastern email address for unlimited access via ft.com.
- Washington PostFor off-campus access, please create an account with your Northeastern email address, then follow these instructions to link our university subscription.
The Boston Globe
Boston Globe Subscriptions from Proquest
Access restricted to NU only.
- Boston Globe through Proquest NewsstandText only. Includes full text of the Boston Globe current issue and backfiles to 1997.
Need help with your research?
Email me: b.williams@northeastern.edu
If you need immediate help, please chat with a librarian.
What I can do in a consultation:
- Help you find sources for your project
- Help you brainstorm research strategies
- Help you set up a citation manager
- Help you access online materials
- Help you request items through Interlibrary Loan
What I can't do in a consultation:
- Proofread your paper (visit the Writing Center!)
- Help you choose a topic or verify that your topic is "good" (talk to your instructor!)
- Find sources for you (that's your job!)
Bottom line: while I am here to support your research process and help you navigate the library, I am not a substitute for your instructor. Questions about assignment requirements, grading, acceptable sources, acceptable topics and deadlines should be directed to your professor or TA.