Welcome
This guide introduces resources to support your research topics in art, art history, and design. You'll find a list of major databases in the field as well as tips on finding books, articles, films and other sources.
Email or schedule an appointment with the art and design librarian for your location if you need help with your research.
Key Resources
- Art, Design, and Architecture Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowScholarly and trade articles, books, and conference proceedings in the fields of visual and applied arts.
- Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowA multidisciplinary database useful for researching a broad range of topics. Includes newspaper, magazine, and academic peer-reviewed articles.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowArchive of scholarly articles in the humanities, social sciences, and other disciplines. Useful for research in art and architectural history.
- Library Stack This link opens in a new windowE-books and other digital materials from the arts, design, theory, and architecture fields. Includes often-overlooked ephemera such as artists ebooks, podcasts, filmed lectures, typefaces, and more. Some items require registration (free) to view.
- Art and Architecture ePortal (Yale) This link opens in a new windowScholarly books on art and architecture history, decorative arts, and design, from Yale University Press. You can search the images in the books as well as the text.
- JSTOR Images This link opens in a new windowOnline collections of high-quality images and primary sources from libraries, museums, and archives around the world on JSTOR. Includes Artstor and its collections of art and architecture related images.
Getting to Know Your Topic
Reference sources, such as encyclopedias or dictionaries, are great starting points for familiarizing yourself with a research topic. They can also help you identify the relevant keywords or specialized terms used to describe your topic.
- Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new windowIncludes biographies of artists, subject entries on types of art, and images.
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new windowDictionaries and encyclopedias focusing on artists, art terms, and art movements.
Find Films
Search Scholar OneSearch by topic or film title. Select the Video filter under Material Type to limit your results to films and other video or audio resources. Resources that say "Online access" means the film can be streamed remotely. DVDs will need to be requested for pick-up.
You can also consult the Streaming Media guide and select platforms to search for online films.
Creative and Research Data Services at the Library
Design & Software Tutorials
- LinkedIn Learning This link opens in a new windowCourtesy of Northeastern University Information Technology Services LinkedIn Learning offers on-demand courses on 3D and animation, Adobe software, and more. Most videos have closed captioning and transcripts for accessibility.