Welcome
This guide offers resources to help you with your research in communication studies. Use the navigation menu to access in-depth information, and if you need more help with your research, you can contact us individually or Ask a Librarian for additional chat, in-person, and email help options.
Karen Merguerian and Matthew Hurley
Key Resources
Encyclopedias and Handbooks for Background
- International Encyclopedia of Media StudiesAccess through online link provided. Registration with O'Reilly required; use your Northeastern email to set up your account.
Articles on communication studies
Use Scholar OneSearch for articles on any topic, as well as books and e-books at Northeastern, videos, datasets. archival collections, and more.
See also: Spotlight on Health Sciences Communication
- Communications & Mass Media Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowProvides quality research in areas related to communication and mass media. This database includes full text for 326 journals.
Communications is highly interdisciplinary, and intersects with business, sociology, health sciences, psychology, and more.
Research articles in communications therefore can also be found in:
- Business Source Ultimate (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowBusiness research database, providing indexing for more than 2,300 journals and full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed titles.
- PsycInfo (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowAmerican Psychological Associations flagship PsycINFO database includes citations and abstracts of peer reviewed articles, books, and dissertations. Coverage from 1888 to the present. Full text links for Northeastern-subscribed materials.
- Social Sciences Premium Collection (Proquest) This link opens in a new windowThis collection provides access to databases covering the international literature in the social sciences, including politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology and education.
- Sociology (Proquest) This link opens in a new windowFull text articles about sociology and social work, including culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, social psychology, substance abuse and addiction and more.
- MEDLINE (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowMedline is the U.S. National Library of Medicine's flagship database of articles in medicine, with coverage of the most authoritative peer-reviewed biomedical and health sciences research journals. Links to full text.
AI Assistants
Don't forget to check the requirements of your professor, and be sure to cite your AI assistant properly.
- Scite.ai This link opens in a new windowAn AI-powered research platform that analyzes and provides citation context for scientific papers, helping researchers evaluate the credibility and impact of scholarly articles. Account registration is necessary for some features.
