Get started: Advanced Writing in Environmental Professions
Tackling a new topic?
If you are unsure of where to start, try looking for a review article first. Review articles attempt to summarize the state of research on a scientific topic. While lengthy & not generally including the very latest research, review articles can be a great way to start to get a handle on a topic. Many databases will allow you to limit your search to include only review articles or literature reviews. There are a number of approaches to searching:
- Search Library Catalogs + Articles with Scholar OneSearch
- Choose a search tool recommended in your subject research guide
- Try an interdisciplinary database, such as Academic Search Complete, JSTOR, Web of Science, or Gale in Context: Environmental Studies
Don't overlook the literature cited at the end of the review - the bibliography contains a wealth of information about the key discoveries & main researchers in the field.
Find more databases of Key Resources by Subject:
The subject guides are a rich source of information for research in the field, containing links not just to articles but to statistics and more. Databases specific to your discipline provide better access to articles, improved searching, and other additional services that can help guide your research.
Examples of what you may find in the subject guides:
Can't find an article?
To request a copy of a journal article that the library doesn't have, please use the ILLiad request form. Most often, an electronic copy of the article is emailed to you within 2-4 days.
Online references are typically sources of information that covers a broad range of topics, such as an encyclopedia. A selection of online reference are listed below. You can also browse the complete list on the library's web site.
This webpage was designed to help students communicate their technical work---writing, presentations and with media. The guidelines include background information and advice on Assessing the Audience, with guidelines for Correspondence and Report formats.