Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Get started with Scholar OneSearch
Scholar OneSearch can be a great place to start your research. Search results include books (both electronic and print), articles, videos, data sets, and more. Here are some tips on how to use it most effectively.
Ask Your Librarian
You can contact your subject specialist librarian by clicking on their name below or by navigating to their subject guides:
View complete list of subject librarians and specialists.
Or, contact us at Ask a Reference Librarian!
Need help with writing?
Support from Northeastern's Writing Center includes:
- Writing in STEM - a list of guides and other resources for learning to write in the Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics fields
- Writing Resources - for topics like grammar and style, vocabulary, revision techniques, support for multilingual writers, and other campus resources
- Tutoring services - book an appointment for free help with brainstorming, planning, researching, organizing, drafting, revising and using sources.
Academic databases usually contain the most up-to-date and in-depth information on your topic. While Scholar OneSearch is a great place to start your research, subject-specific databases can give you more focused results. For topics in Engineering and Computer Science, try:
Computers & Applied Sciences Complete
The primary database for the computing and applied sciences. Contains academic articles, reports and professional publications.
Engineering Village: Compendex, Inspec, Knovel
A comprehensive interdisciplinary database focused on engineering and computer science. Engineering Village contains the latest academic articles, conference papers and proceedings, dissertations, government reports, book chapters and more.
IEEEXplore (IEEE/IET Electronic Library) This link opens in a new window
The Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers is the world's largest association for the advancement of technology. This database gives access to technical literature in engineering and technology, and includes select content published since 1950 from IEEE journals, transactions, magazines, conference proceedings, and standards.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statistics brought together from governments, industry, international organizations, scholarly societies, polls, and more. Expressed as easy-to-use charts, some data is downloadable.
Ulrichs Web This link opens in a new window
This website helps you determine if a publication is "peer reviewed". Search the title of the journal...the referee shirt means it's reviewed, or "refereed"!
Web of Science
A large multidisciplinary database that includes academic articles, research reports, book chapters, conference papers and proceedings, and more.
Get information here about annotated bibliographies
Reference databases and encyclopedias don't offer up-to-the-minute research, but they do provide important context and background information on a broad array of topics.
A selection of reference databases is listed below. You can also browse the complete list on the library's website.
One of the largest and most-used encyclopedias in the world.
Encyclopedia of Information Science and Technology
Encyclopedia of Information Science and Technology is focused specifically on the field of information science.
Encyclopedia of Materials: Science and Technology
Encyclopedia of Materials covers all aspects of the materials sciences and is useful for researchers in engineering, physics, chemistry and the biomedical sciences.
IEEE Editorial Style Manual
IEEE webpage, contains the complete guidelines for manuscript presentation and citation referencing for IEEE publications, and related information.
A core reference source for engineering, Knovel Library provides engineering-specific definitions, data sets, and materials information from a large library of textbooks, reference manuals, dictionaries and encyclopedias.
O'Reilly for Higher Education
Focused on computer and information science, O'Reilly contains many handbooks and references. To access, set up an account with your Northeastern email address.