It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Media and Screen Studies : Home
A guide to resources and research in Media and Screen Studies.
Encyclopedia of Racism in American FilmsThis volume takes up the topic of racism in American film from its early days of film production to the present. Covering over 300 entries that include films, producers, directors, actors, genres, and critical interpretations, this book is the first of its kind.
Entertainment Industry Magazine ArchiveThis primary resource covers entertainment history in US and UK trade magazines from the vaudeville era to 2000. Read articles in Billboard, Variety, Broadcasting, Melody Maker, to name a few.
Film Literature IndexIncludes 700,00 citations to film, tv and video articles and reviews from 1976-2001.
Sage Handbook of Film StudiesThis handbook maps the international traditions of the field, drawing out regional differences in the way that intellectual reflection on cinema and film has been transformed into a field of systematic inquiry.
Educational Media Reviews Online (EMRO) is a database of video, DVD, audio CD and CD-ROM reviews of materials from major educational and documentary distributors and independent filmmakers. The reviews are written by librarians and teaching faculty in institutions across the United States and Canada.
Includes film reviews and Internet movie reviews by film critic Emanuel Levy. You can also find movie reviews of independent cinema shown in festivals such as the Sundance Film Festival, foreign film reviews as well as DVD reviews
Browse or search 28,000 New York Times movie reviews. Included in the free review archive are all films reviewed since 1960, reviews of all Best Picture Academy Award winners, as well as The New York Times guide to the Best 1,000 Movies Ever Made.
"Welcome to the new RogerEbert.com, the world’s preeminent destination for movie criticism, commentary and community. It is with a mix of great sadness and genuine excitement that we bring you this new site, the product of a two-year collaboration between Ebert Digital, run by Roger Ebert, Chaz Ebert and Josh Golden, and web development partner Table XI.
Roger (1942-2013) was an innovator in so many ways. From democratizing movie criticism and bringing it to a more mainstream audience, to publishing his reviews to Compuserve at the dawn of the Internet, Roger was always pushing the envelope. It was a great challenge to develop a product that would meet his exacting standards, but he loved the site when he last saw it, and we’ll do our best to continue to develop something he’d be proud of.
Over the coming months, we’ll add content and features to the site, including an enhanced version of Roger’s fan club, the Ebert Club, integrated mobile apps, and broader inclusion of video on the site. In the meantime, we hope you’ll enjoy this collection of more than four decades’ worth of content written by Roger and his handpicked team of collaborators, searchable and explorable like never before".
Video Librarian is the video review magazine for public, school, academic, and special libraries, as well as video fans who are interested in a wider variety of titles than what's found in the average video store. Written by staff, librarians, teachers, and film critics, Video Librarian offers over 225 critical reviews per issue, alerting readers to upcoming new releases of special-interest, documentary, and video movie titles. In addition, we inform our subscribers of video bargains (and free videos) and track technological trends.
This guide outlines a host of resources to aid you in conducting research, be it for a Media and Screen Studies course or for any other subject discipline. Many of these resources are only available to current Northeastern University students, faculty or alumni.
The Library’s Recording Studios’ are currently closed, but Studios’ staff look forward to providing all members of the Northeastern University community with an excellent experience. We will be available remotely to assist you with your media project needs. Staff will help you through the entire production process—from conceptualization through post-production.