How do I find articles written by a nurse? Descriptive Transcript

When visual content is read or explained in audio, it is not reproduced in the visual column below.

Audio Visual
Looking for articles written by a nurse? This tutorial will cover four search strategies you can use in CINAHL Complete to find articles written by nurses. How Do I find articles written by a nurse? Title slide
CINAHL Complete is the most comprehensive database of nursing and allied health literature. We'll learn how to find articles in CINAHL complete with a first author is a nurse or any author is a nurse. We'll learn how to use the journals subset search option and the author affiliations search option to find articles written by a nurse.  
To access CINAHL complete begin at the Snell Library home page. Click on research subject guides. From the research guides page, click on by subject. Select Biomedical and Health for a list of health-related guides. The Nursing Research Guide is listed here. Select CINAHL Complete from the key databases list. Presenter clicks on Research Subject guides heading on the library website homepage. Then, they sort guides by subject and select Biomedical and health. From the resulting list, they select the nursing research guide and click on CINAHL from the key databases list.
From the CINAHL complete advance search screen, enter your key words or phrases that describe your topic. Put each unique concept in a separate box. You can add more search boxes if needed by clicking on the plus sign. Combined concepts using AND or OR from the drop-down options beside the search boxes. Click on Search. You can see that searching for critical care and staffing brings back nine hundred and eighty-five or so results. On the left side of your search results, there are various database filters or ways to narrow your search results. Click on show more for additional filtering options. The first way to find articles written by a nurse is to check the box next to first author is a nurse. This brings back articles where it is confirmed that the first author is a nurse according to the credentials noted in the article. The first author is normally the person claiming most responsibility for the research. Filtering your search results to articles where the first author is a nurse brings back about sixty-seven results. CINAHL screen capture. User types critical care and staffing into search boxes on advanced search page. Presenter adds a search box with the plus sign after the grouped search boxes. Presenter clicks Show More in limiter pane to open search options, then checks “first author is a nurse” box and clicks search.
The second way to find articles written by a nurse is to select any author is a nurse. This is a broader search than first author as a nurse and could be helpful if the previous search brought back to few results. Click on show more to return to the limiter options page. Uncheck first author is a nurse and instead check any author is a nurse. Limiting our search results to any author is a nurse brings back about seventy-three results. A few more than our previous search on first author is a nurse. Note that the limiter option you're using is listed on the left side of your search results. Applying these limit options will bring back articles from to the present only. Let's take a closer look at the second record by clicking on the title. To access the full text article and verify the authors nursing credentials. Click on the PDF link. If there is no PDF link, click on Check NU library link to try to link out to the article. Author's credentials are found after the author's name on the title page of the article, or they may be listed in the footnotes of the first page of the article. Look for the following credentials: RN, BSN, MSN, or any other appropriate degree. For non-U.S. journals, the credentials include licensed nurse or appropriate nursing degree for that particular country. Presenter clicks Show More in limiter pane to open search options, then unchecks “first author is a nurse”, checks “any author is a nurse” box and clicks search. Presenter opens the item record, and then the full text of the article “potential Dangers of Nursing Overtime in Critical Care”. Author credentials, RN, MScn, PhD are highlighted after author’s names.
The third way to locate articles written by a nurse is the journal Subset Filter. The assumption is that nurse authors will publish at a higher frequency in nursing journals than authors from other health sciences disciplines. Scroll through the list of journals subset options and select nursing. Using the journal subset filter brings back about six hundred and twenty-six results. This method is particularly useful if you're not bringing back enough results using the two previous methods. Be sure to verify the authors nursing credentials by checking the author data in the full text article. Screencapture. Presenter returns to search results and clicks show more in limiter pane to open search options. Presenter selects Nursing from the Journal subset limiter, then clicks search. From search results, presenter opens the item record and then the full text of Critical Care Nurse Work Environments 2018: Findings and Implications. The author’s names and credentials are highlighted.
The fourth way to locate articles written by a nurse is to restrict a search to the institutional affiliation of an author. Enter your keywords as usual in the search boxes. Enter nursing in another search box. From the Select a Field drop-down select A.F. author affiliation. This will bring back articles written by authors affiliated with an institution that has the word nursing in the title, such as College of Nursing or School of Nursing. Remember to verify the author's nursing credentials by looking at the affiliation field in the CINAHL complete record or check the full text article. Presenter returns to search results. Selects author affiliation from select a field drop-down options after third and empty search field. Presenter types nursing into the associated search box. Presenter clicks Search. Presenter opens the item record and then the full text for “appropriate staffing in critical units: a review of the literature.”
Need help? Have questions? Ask a librarian. Closing Slide: Ask a Librarian library.northeastern.edu/ask