Descriptive Transcript
When visual content is read or explained in audio, it is not reproduced in the visual column below.
| Audio | Visual |
|---|---|
| In this tutorial, you will learn how to use a citation to find the full article in Scholar OneSearch. In general, you'll be able to put the article's title into Scholar OneSearch and access the full text, but sometimes that may not work. This tutorial will show you another method to finding the full text if that doesn't work for your article. | Using a citation to find the full article title slide |
| The citation we'll be using for today's demonstration is in APA format, but you can follow similar steps to find the full text in any citation style. First attempt to read the citation. In APA style we'll see the author, year, title, journal, volume and issue, and finally, page numbers. To find our full text article, we are going to start by using the journal name and the year the article was published, followed by the volume and issue information. And finally, the article's title to find the full text. I'm going to leave the article citation up on the side of the screen so that we can refer back to it as needed. | Crabbe, M. (2010). Computational biology approaches to plant metabolism and photosynthesis: Applications for corals in time of climate change and environmental stress. Journal of integrative plant biology, 52(8), 698-703. |
| As mentioned, we're going to start by using the journal name. We'll use this to find out if we have access to this journal and if so, during which years. From the library's home page library.Northeastern.edu we can use the E-Journals A-Z list to find the journal that we are looking for. In this case, that's Journal of Integrative Plant Biology. When we found the correct journal, we can click on the journal title to see all of the ways that this journal is accessible. Under View Online, I can see that we are able to access this journal's content through three different providers. Note the year from which each link is available, and any restricting information such as under EBSCO, it's noted that the most recent one year of this journal is not available from this link. Our article is from 2010. So we can choose any of these links. Next, we will use the volume and issue information from our citation to find the correct issue of our journal. Our article is in Volume fifty-two Issue eight. Most journal home pages will look different, but you will usually look for a link that says browse or view all issues. In this case we see browse and then we can select all issues. The links on the side of the page let us choose the correct volume. We're going to select, volume fifty two. And now we can see all of the issues available. We're going to select issue eight, which is where our article is located. And this will show us all of the contents from this particular issue of the journal. We can now scroll to find our article using its title, Computational Biology Approaches to Plant Metabolism and Photosynthesis. And we can actually see that we don't have to scroll far. It's the first first article here underneath invited expert reviews. I can either click the link on the article title to open up the full title or any of the links below to see the abstract, full text, PDF references, etc. | Screenshare. Presenter clicks on the E-journals A-Z option from the menu grid below Scholar OneSearch on the classic library homepage. Searches the Journals list for Journal of Integrative Plant Biology. Identifies correct journal from results list. Clicks on title to open journal page. Clicks on Wiley database link from the View Online options. Presenter selects browse from the end of the main menu, and all issues from the resulting drop-down list. Selects 2010 Volume 52 link from Issue Archive link list in left panel. Selects issue 8 from results. Clicks PDF link to open full text of article. |
| If you have any questions, please feel free to reach out to us using the contact information at the link provided here. Thank you for watching this tutorial. | Closing Slide: Ask a Librarian library.northeastern.edu/ask |