Research Subject Guides: Federal Government : Health

Get Started

Use the links below to navigate this page.

Department of Health and Human Services
National Institutes of Health
NIH is comprised of 27 centers and institutes engaged in a broad range of health related research.
more...less...
Selected NIH agencies include: the National Genome Research Institute, National Cancer Institute, National Institute on Deafness and other Communication Disorders, National Institute of Nursing, National Institute of Mental Health, National Institute on Drug Abuse, and the National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
National Center for Health Statistics
Food and Drug Administration (FDA)
In addition to food and drugs, FDA regulates medical devices, cosmetics, radiation-emitting products, and tobacco.
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Administration
SAMSHA covers a broad spectrum of issues ranging from care of homeless populations to fetal alcohol syndrome and refugee well-being. Links to publications and statistics are provided.
Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services

CDC Surveys and Data Collection Systems
This site presents data from a number of CDC's key surveys, including the National Health Interview Series and the National Vital Statistics System.
CDC WONDER Index to Databases
Provides access to both CDC and other agency databases.
CDC WONDER
Series of online databases for the retrieval of public health data.
ClinicalTrials.gov
Covers clinical trials in the U.S., U.S. states, and over 200 other countries. Search by condition, intervention, or geographic region.

MedlinePlus This link opens in a new window
Useful to consumers with interactive tutorials and information about drugs and conditions.
Locate information on 800+ diseases and health conditions, prescriptions and OTC drugs, herbs and supplements. Link out to related anatomy and surgery videos, journal articles, clinical trials and patient education handouts. Includes a dictionary of medicine and an encyclopedia. Directories are available to use in locating hospitals, doctors, organizations, and more. Interactive tutorials, calculators, quizzes and games provide fun ways to learn about health issues and wellness. Health topic pages provide links to related topic searches in PubMed for more in-depth research. Spanish language version available.

NIH Research Portfolio Online Reporting Tool
This is a compilation of materials on NIH-sponsored research.
more...less...
Information is provided on investigators, projects funded, success rates, funding, strategic plans, and data.

PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
Full-text journal articles in the biomedical and life sciences, offering free access to full contents. Sponsored by the U.S. National Institutes of Health.

Health United States
Annual publication on health trends and statistics. Backfiles are available full-text from 1975 to present.
Reports of the Surgeon General
This site focuses on Surgeon General reports from roughly 2000 onward. For earlier reports, please see the link to the National Library of Medicine Profiles in Science Reports.
Healthy People
This publication series describes goals set and progress made in various aspects of health promotion and wellness.
National Library of Medicine Profiles in Science Reports
This site includes the landmark reports on smoking and health from the late 1960's onward as well as Television and Growing Up, the 1972 report on the effects of tv violence on children.

See also the Research Subject Guides for Health Sciences and Public Health which cover a broad span of the medical sciences.

PubMed (NU customized) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive source of journal literature in the life sciences and biomedicine from the National Library of Medicine. Includes selected full text from PubMed Central, and NCBI Bookshelf. PubMed is a free web resource, however this version contains links to Northeastern-subscribed journals that require a login.
PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
Full-text journal articles in the biomedical and life sciences, offering free access to full contents. Sponsored by the U.S. National Institutes of Health.