Get Started
Use the links below to navigate this page.
Selected Science/Technology Agencies
Selected Science/Technology Publications and Resources
Science Portals
- Research.govOnline grants management for the National Science Foundation.
- Data.govSearch by organization name or topic. Includes datasets from non-federal entities, including cities and states.
Selelcted Scientific/Technical Agencies
As noted, this page highlights several major federal science and technology agencies and their publications or databases. Several of these agencies are located within Executive Branch departments while others are independent establishments or government corporations. For example, the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) is part of the Department of Commerce while the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) is categorized as an independent establishment.
To locate additional sci/tech focused government agencies or learn about government organization in general, check the United States Government Manual. For those interested in the history and development of government agencies, the United States Government Manual is available from 1935 to present.
- Department of Energy (DOE)Browse here for information on a broad range of energy topics or try some of DOE's excellent publication sites referenced below.
- U.S. Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO)Please see our detailed Research Subject Guide on Patent Searching.
Selected Science/Technology Publications and Resources
- National Science FoundationSee also the Data Explorer and National Center for Science and Engineering Statistics noted elsewhere.
- National Service Center for Environmental PublicationsThis gateway provides access to EPA's collection of digital publications.
- National Technical Reports Library (NTRL)Largest collection of government-sponsored technical reports available. Full text is available from a variety of sources as described on the NTRL site.
- NIST Digital ArchivesHistorical publications, photographs, and archives from the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST).
- NTIS (National Technical Information Service)Landing page for NTIS which supports federal agencies by assisting them with projects and also connecting them with private-sector partners.
- NTRS- NASA Technical Reports ServerProvides access to a massive collection of documents, images, and videos, including materials from NASA's predecessor, NACA. A number of titles are available in full-text; others must be found in libraries or purchased.
- OpenNet (Department of Energy)This database provides access to declassified publications from DOE and predecessor agencies. Rich historical files include materials on the Manhattan Project and energy in the Cold War period
- OSTI.gov (Department of Energy)OSTI is the primary search tool for energy-related research and literature funded by DOE.
- TRAIL: Technical Report Archive and Image Library (Center for Research Libraries) This link opens in a new windowA search of technical reports from US government agencies, prior to 1975.
- U.S. Geological Survey (USGS) Publications WarehouseProvides access to more than a century of publications from USGS authors.
Selected Science/Technology Data Resources
- NIST Data Discovery (Data Repository Page)Datasets are organized by broad thematic area, for example, forensics or chemistry.
- National Center for Science and Engineering Statistics (National Science Foundation)See also the Data Explorer, mentioned separately. Areas of interest include STEM education, higher education research and funding, government science and research funding, etc.
- Where to Find EPA DataIn addition to providing links to datasets on broad topics (chemicals, air, etc.), this site links to a variety of other data-focused tools like the EnviroAtlas.
Selected NU Library Resources
- Compendex & INSPEC This link opens in a new windowCombines a comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database with a comprehensive database of physics, computer science and electrical engineering research.
- Statista This link opens in a new windowBrings together data and graphs on every imaginable topic from business to government, surveys, sports, and scientific topics. Easy to use, exportable charts and data, recommended citations.
- E&E News (Politico Pro) This link opens in a new windowUp-to-date news on energy and the environment. Includes EnergyWire, ClimateWire, GreenWire, E&E Daily, and E&E News.
