Get Started
Use the links below to navigate this page.
Federal Courts and Cases
GovInfo is an official government site which provides authenticated, permanently accessible copies of federal publications, including those of the Judiciary.
- United States Court Opinions (Part of GovInfo)Jointly provided by the U.S. Government Publishing Office (GPO), through GovInfo, and the Administrative Office of the U.S. Courts. Provides links to several federal court systems: appellate, district, bankruptcy, and national. Although holdings information may differ among jurisdictions, coverage generally begins in April 2004.
- U.S. Courts (Administrative Office of the U.S. Courts)Use this site to supplement and expand upon the materials included in GovInfo. Provides links to a variety of federal courts, including the Supreme Court, U.S. District Courts, U.S. Appeals Courts, and U.S. Bankruptcy Courts.
- About the U.S. Courts (Administrative Office of U.S. Courts)This site provides significant amounts of educational material for those interested in learning more about the federal court system.
- U.S. Supreme CourtThis site includes texts of recent decisions, the Court docket, argument transcripts, selected opinions, orders, and the Journal from 1991 to present.
- United States Courts OpinionsSelected Bankruptcy, District, and Appellate Court opinions from April 2004 to present.
- OyezDesigned as a multimedia archive of Supreme Court materials. Recording of Supreme Court cases began in 1955. There are also visual representations of court decisions from 1953 onwards. Brief summaries of earlier cases are available.
Court-related Data and Statistics
- SCOTUSblog Current Court StatisticsProvides statistics in four main categories: arguments by sitting, majority opinions authored by sitting, pace of grants, and pace of decisions.
- SCOTUSblog Statistics from previous October TermsAvailable from October Term 1995 through October Term 2022.
- United States Courts Statistics and ReportsStatistics from the Federal Judiciary, including district, appellate, and bankruptcy courts.
- Statistical Tables for the Federal JudiciaryPart of the broader Statistics and Reports category linked above.
Selected NU Library Resources
- HeinOnline This link opens in a new windowHeinOnline is available courtesy of the Northeastern School of Law Library.
Full text legal documents including regulations and other government publications, reports, Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS) and UN Treaty series, and law reviews and journals. - Law360 This link opens in a new windowAvailable courtesy of the Northeastern School of Law Library.
Up-to-date legal news focusing on business law. - Westlaw Campus Research This link opens in a new windowSearch federal and state court cases, statutes and codes as well as European Union laws and regulations. Secondary sources include the American Law Reports and the American Jurisprudence encyclopedia, law reviews, journals, and newspapers.
- Tutorials: Find cases and articles in Westlaw (video) or see a PDF version
- U.S. Supreme Court Library (HeinOnline)Includes a broad range of useful materials on the work of the court, including a list of landmark cases.