Get Started
Use the links below to navigate this page.
Criminal Justice/Law Enforcement Agencies
Crime/Law Enforcement Publications
Criminal Justice/Law Enforcement Agencies
- Department of JusticeThe list of agencies below is selective. An organization chart with links to all Justice Department agencies and offices is available at the Department website.
- Office of Justice ProgramsFrom the website: "The Office of Justice Programs is the largest grantmaking component of the Department of Justice and houses the Department’s criminal and juvenile justice-related science, statistics, and programmatic agencies." Includes the National Criminal Justice Service Virtual Library (see separate link below).
Crime/Law Enforcement Publications
Most Department of Justice agencies provide access to publication series and both statistics and datasets. Explore these sites to find research materials for your projects.
- FBI Crime Statistics and PublicationsVisit this site for access to a broad range of publications, including Crime in the United States, Hate Crime Statistics, Bank Crime Reports, and a gang assessment report.
- Uniform Crime Reports, 1995 to 2019. For current data, visit the Crime Data Explorer.
- Department of Justice Publications and ReportsProvides links to agencies, many of which produce publications and publication series.
Criminal Justice Databases and Datasets
- National Archive of Criminal Justice Data (ICPSR)NACJD is a joint project of ICPSR and several federal justice agencies. Although ICPSR is a membership organization, these data are free because of federal sponsorship. NU is an ICPSR member and community members have access to other ICPSR resources as well.
- Crime Data ExplorerFrom the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI). Includes the Law Enforcement Explorer, Special Reports, and Documents and Downloads, for example NIBRS and UCR data.
- Uniform Crime Reports (UCR) Historical InformationProvides access to the Uniform Crime Reports (UCR) from 1995 through 2019.
- Statistical Briefing Book (OJJDP)From the Office of Juvenile Justice Delinquency Prevention.
- Bureau of Justice StatisticsAll data organized by broad topic, for example, Forensic Sciences and Victims of Crime.
Selected NU Library Resources
- Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Ultimate is a multidisciplinary database useful for searching a broad range of topics in the fields of criminology, public policy, and justice. Many full-text articles are available; click the PDF or the check for full-text link to locate them!
- Criminal Justice Abstracts (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowCitations and abstracts of scholarly, peer-reviewed articles and professional association news and information. Covers criminology; criminal justice; criminal law and procedure; corrections; police and policing; forensic sciences; history of crime; substance abuse; probation and parole. Links to full text.
- Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL) This link opens in a new windowThe Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL) is the nation's premier collection of homeland security policy and strategy related documents.
- Social Sciences Premium Collection (Proquest) This link opens in a new windowScholarly and professional citations and abstracts with full text links in politics and public policy, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology, linguistics, information sciences and education. Professional society databases included.
