Get Started
Use the links below to navigate this page.
Business/Economics Publications
Business Portals
Business/Economics Agencies
- Board of Governors, Federal Reserve SystemProvides links to the Federal Reserve Bulletin as well as a broad range of research and economic data.
- Bureau of Economic AnalysisProvides economic accounts data at the national, international, industrial, and regional level.
- Bureau of Labor StatisticsAn extensive site providing links to publications, databases, statistics, calculators, and economic releases.
- Department of CommerceSelect the Data and Reports pages,
- Securities and Exchange CommissionSelect the "We Do Data" area for statistics and datasets.
- Small Business Administration (SBA)The site offers extensive documentation on the "how-to's" of starting and financing a small business.
Business/Economics Publications
- Economic Report of the President, 1947 to presentAvailable through FRASER, the Federal Reserve Archive.
- Economic Report of the President, 1995 to presentAvailable through GovInfo, the Government Printing Office permanent archive.
- Economic Indicators, April 1995 to presentPrepared for the use of the Joint Economic Committee by the Council of Economic Advisors.
- Monthly Labor Review onlineIncludes articles as well as current labor statistics and historical data.
- Employment and Earnings onlineArchival data available.
- Occupational Outlook HandbookStandard work for exploring occupations and their characteristics and training requirements.
- Survey of Current BusinessArticles and data.
Business/Economics Databases and Datasets
- Census Bureau Economic StatisticsIncludes data on manufacturing, retail and wholesale trade, construction, governments, services, and other sectors.
- FRASER (Federal Reserve Archival System for Economic Research)FRASER provides scanned copies of historical economic statistical publications.
- FRED (Federal Reserve Economic Data)Database of economic time series data, both domestic and international.
- ALFRED (Archival Federal Reserve Economic Data)As described by the Federal Reserve, ALFRED "allows you to retrieve vintage version of economic data that were available on specific dates in history."
- EDGARCompany filings from the Securities and Exchange Commission.
- BLS Databases, Tables, and Calculators by Subject (Bureau of Labor Statistics)Includes materials on employment, unemployment, prices and inflation, productivity, and pay and benefits, and workplace injuries. Also international comparative data.
- Bureau of Economic Analysis Interactive Data TablesLegacy data tables also available at the same site.
- Treasury DepartmentSelect the data link from the home page.
Selected Library Resources
For additional business or economics databases, see the Research Subject Guides for Business and Economics.
- Economist This link opens in a new windowWeekly international news and business publication. The online edition features content from 1997 to the present.
- Financial TimesLondon-based and international in scope, with extensive business, marketing, economic, political, news and trends worldwide. Also hosts subject-focused newsletters, podcasts, and live conferences. Access to the Financial Times requires registration with a Northeastern or NU London email address.
- Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new windowLeading economic, business, finance, and political news, information, commentary and analysis. For historic WSJ content dating back to 1985, please use Factiva (Opens in new window). Individual registration using a Northeastern email address is required.
