Get Started
Education Agencies and Services
- Protecting Student PrivacyExplanatory materials on FERPA and related regulations for parents, students, and educators at all levels.
Education Publications, Surveys, and Data
- Survey and Program AreasFrom the National Center for Education Statistics. Comprehensive list of programs and surveys; several of these surveys are highlighted below.
- National Assessment of Educational ProgressAlso known as The Nation's Report Card. This site provides a gateway for publications, state profiles, and data.
- College Affordability and Transparency CenterIncludes the College Navigator, College Scorecard, and a variety of other tools.
Additional Resources
These resources are provided through NU's membership in the InterUniversity Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR).
- Education Research Data Sharing InitiativePartnership between ICPSR, the NSF, and the American
Educational Research Association. Focuses on education and learning in the STEM fields.
Selected Library Resources
- Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new windowAn independent newspaper and website, with articles, special reports, data, and career opportunities in higher education, especially in the United States.
- Education Research Ultimate (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowPeer-reviewed journals in education, most with full text. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing.
- ERIC (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowCitations to education information, including scholarly articles, professional literature, education dissertations, and books, plus grey literature such as curriculum guides, conference proceedings, government publications, and white papers. Links to full text. 1966 to the present.
See our education research guide for a search box to combine ERIC with PsycInfo and Education Research Complete. - PsycInfo (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowAmerican Psychological Associations flagship PsycINFO database includes citations and abstracts of peer reviewed articles, books, and dissertations. Coverage from 1888 to the present. Full text links for Northeastern-subscribed materials.
- Social Sciences Premium Collection (Proquest) This link opens in a new windowScholarly and professional citations and abstracts with full text links in politics and public policy, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology, linguistics, information sciences and education. Professional society databases included.
- Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowScholarly, peer-reviewed articles and professional association publications, Abstracts and links to full text, about half are peer reviewed, covering all academic subjects including STEM fields.
