Get Started
Use the links below to navigate this page.
Selected International Affairs Agencies
Selected Publications and Databases
Selected International Affairs Agencies
Many federal departments and agencies have units which work in the international affairs space. Visit department websites and scan their organization charts to identify these units. Selected international-facing federal agencies are listed below.
Selected Publications and Databases
- Countries and Areas Pages (Department of State)Review these pages to find a variety of documents about countries and regions as well as to learn about U.S. policies toward and relationships with these areas.
- Policy Issues Pages (Department of State)Covers a broad range of issues to State Department staff from climate policy to anti-corruption to refugee and humanitarian crises.
- Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS) (Office of the Historian, U.S. Dept. of State)The FRUS series is the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity. Full-text is currently available through the early years of the Reagan Administration.Volumes for the remaining Reagan years as well as those related to the Bush and Clinton Administrations are in various stages of declassification and review.
- World Wide Diplomatic Archives IndexProvides information about the availability and accessibility of diplomatic publications from other nations. A list of other sources for international diplomatic records is provided.
- U.S. Bilateral Relations Fact SheetsFilter by country, region, or year.
- Country Reports on TerrorismFormerly Patterns of Global Terrorism.
- Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL) This link opens in a new windowThe Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL) is the nation's premier collection of homeland security policy and strategy related documents.
Selected Data Sources and Databases
- AidscapeUSAID's primary site for all aid-related data. Several individual data products are noted below.
- ForeignAssistance.govInteractive data dashboard created by the Department of State and USAID to provide a visual introduction to US foreign assistance commitments.
Treaties
- Treaties in Force (Department of State)Check the dates of publications and their supplements for the most current information published.
- World Treaty Library (HeinOnline)Extensive and varied content. Includes, among other series, the Indigenous Peoples Treaties, the United Nations Treaty Series, 1946 to present, and the Multilateral Treaty Calendar, 1648-1995.
- Avalon Project (Yale University)Includes documents in the fields of law, history, politics, and government. Significant coverage of treaties and conventions.
Embassies and Consulates
Selected NU Library Resources
Visit the International Affairs Guide Digital Newspapers site to initiate or access your subscription to NU Library supported news. These resources include titles like the New York Times, the Washington Post, and Nikkei Asia.
Visit the International Affairs Guide Digital News Platforms site to connect with a wide range of news outlets. Most of these digital providers offer opportunities to sign up for newsletters, listen to podcasts, etc. These resources include titles like Foreign Affairs, Foreign Policy, the Atlantic, and the Economist.
FEATURED RESOURCE: Policy Commons Policy Commons is presently the world's largest source of grey literature. It provides access to reports and publications produced by IGOs, NGOs, think tanks, non-profits, university research centers, advocacy groups, and other organizations whose work is not always accessible through standard publishing channels.
- Digital National Security Archive (Proquest) This link opens in a new windowFounded by journalists and scholars, the National Security Archive promotes open government by acting as a clearinghouse for declassified information. Primary source materials: declassified government documents, chronologies, images, bibliographies, and explanatory essays on topics related to national security.
- Social Sciences Premium Collection (Proquest) This link opens in a new windowScholarly and professional citations and abstracts with full text links in politics and public policy, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology, linguistics, information sciences and education. Professional society databases included.
- PAIS International plus Archive (Proquest) This link opens in a new windowPublic Affairs Information Service offers abstracts of scholarship and professional literature from 1915 to present. International in scope, broad range of social science topics. Includes links to full text where available for Northeastern-owned books, journal articles, conference proceedings, and many government publications.