Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
We are still offering consultation services during the COVID-19 move to online instruction. Please feel free to reach out for virtual appointments! For more information on library services and resources, please click here.
perhaps our most popular resource for scholarly articles in history and related disciplines.
American Periodicals Series, 1741-1940 (ProQuest)
Fully searchable, scanned images of popular American periodicals, including advertising. Click for complete description and help.
Search for books and journal articles in anthropology, with links to Northeastern's full text subscriptions or ILL options.
Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 (EBSCOhost)
Search and link to periodical articles. Though not normally known as an index to scholarly content, there are a few scholarly sources included (eg Current, Monthly Labor Review, Science) in addition to popular and professional journals.
Background and Statistics
Cambridge Histories Online
These e-books provide in-depth scholarly treatments of different regions of the world.
Historical Statistics of the United States
An update and expansion of summary census data: labor, law enforcement, population, military, and much more.
International Encyclopedia of Social and Behavioral Sciences, 2nd Edition (2015)
based on topic rather than country or time period, useful for themes and approaches, e.g. "Race and Gender Intersections", "Historical Archaeology" etc.
gives you a list of the most important works on key history topics.
Oxford English Dictionary
learn the historical origins and meanings of words and phrases ("Jim Crow", "genocide", "antinomian", etc)
People and Biography
Archives and Primary Sources
See specific regions and topics at the top of this guide for more sources
A database of archival material descriptions, including WorldCat records and finding aids harvested from the web.
Center for Research Libraries
Northeastern is a member of this shared library of primary source material located in Chicago. Strengths include historic newspapers and magazines and international documents, reports, rare books, and dissertations. Some is digitized, some can be sent to you in print using interlibrary loan.
An online library of primary source materials related to the history of empires from 1607. The focus is on essays and grey literature such as travel writings, missionary reports, maps and drawings, and less on official reports. There are some secondary sources including chronologies and scholarly essays.
Foreign Office Files for China, 1919-1980 (Adam Matthew Digital)
British Foreign Office files dealing with China, Hong Kong and Taiwan between 1919 and 1980. These formerly restricted British government documents, consisting of diplomatic dispatches, letters, newspaper cuttings, maps, reports of court cases, biographies of leading personalities, summaries of events and diverse other materials
History Vault (Proquest)
online archival collections on US history, mostly from the late 19th through the late 20th centuries. Notable: NAACP papers, records on the Woman Suffrage movement, oral histories from Ellis Island, US government commissions and records on the Weather Underground, the Kennedy Assassination, American Indian Movements and Wounded Knee, Watergate, and more.
State Papers Online, Great Britain 1509-1714 (Gale)
Original historical materials from Tudor and Stuart Britain, from high level international politics and diplomacy to the charges against a steward for poisoning a dozen or more people. The correspondence, reports, memoranda, and parliamentary drafts from ambassadors, civil servants and provincial administrators present a full picture of Tudor and Stuart Britain.
Northeastern users have access to Parts I-IV.
World War 1: British Foreign Office Political Correspondence
Confidential British Foreign Office Political Correspondence: World War I contains the working papers of the British Foreign Office used in the development of British foreign policy. The information contained in these documents was often classified and was not made available for study outside of the British government until many years after the documents were created. This collection consists of records relating to the diplomatic business of the Foreign Office, which includes not only the formal relations between two countries but also the information needed by the British government in order to conduct diplomatic relations. This includes the domestic political, economic, social, and cultural relations of another country plus that country's relations with other nations, as well as British internal political concerns.
New and Noteworthy: Food and Drink
Each day, the Washington Post publishes an article that analyzes events making headlines in their larger historical context. Sometimes, that will mean explaining the origins of policy battles; sometimes, it will involve illuminating the social and cultural pathways that led our society to fracture in just this way; other times, it will mean grappling with parallels between the past and present.