Key Resources
- ATLA Religion Database (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowResearch scholarly articles and books on biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religion in social issues. Links to full text for Northeastern-subscribed materials.
- Religion & Philosophy Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowFull text selected scholarly journal articles and professional news in world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. Mostly full text PDFs, or with links to Northeastern-subscribed journals.
- Religion Database (Proquest) This link opens in a new windowPrimarily full-text academic articles on religious and spiritual studies, covering theological studies and social issues from the perspectives of many worldwide religions. Also professional information and titles from religious publishers.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowOne of the most trusted sources for scholarly books and historical journal backfiles. Beginning in 2023, JSTOR also includes Artstor images of art and primary source artifacts.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowFull articles from scholarly journals in the humanities, including religion, literature, philosophy, cultural studies, women's studies, film and the arts.
- Humanities International Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowCitations and abstracts to published sources from Humanities International Index (over 2,000 titles and 2 million records) plus unique full text content and links to full text for Northeastern-subscribed journals.
- Ethnic NewsWatch (Proquest) This link opens in a new windowInterdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) full text newspapers, magazines and journals of American ethnic, minority and indigenous communities. Offers additional viewpoints from those proffered by the mainstream press.
- GenderWatch (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowFull articles from women's studies magazines and newsletters (including some that are hard to find in print), as well as some scholarly journals. Some articles go back to the 1970's.
- Gale Power Search - ReligionFind magazine and academic articles, ebooks, news, images, and videos in the subject Religion.
Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
If you are at New College of the Humanities, please contact Brian Greene about alternatives to HathiTrust titles.
Encyclopedia of Religion 2 by ISBN: 9780028659978Publication Date: 2005-03-012nd edition of a classic work with scholarly articles on religion and religious studies.
Britannica Encyclopedia of World Religions by ISBN: 9781593394912Publication Date: 2008-04-03A guide to the religions of the world and to the concepts, movements, people, and events that have shaped them. It includes features such as: entries on religious movements and concepts, historical and legendary figures, divinities, religious sites and ceremonies; images that show sacred places, vestments, rituals, objects, and texts; and more.
Primary Sources
- Hindustan Times 1960-2000 (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new windowAccess to the second most widely read English newspaper in India, covering subjects such as colonialism and post-colonialism, British and world history, class and gender issues, international relations, comparative religion, international economics, terrorism, and more.
- Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new windowSelected e-books in the Cambridge Histories series. Stable links to PDFs of books and book chapters can be put in Canvas, email, or other sharing with the Northeastern community. Printing: one chapter at a time
- Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800 (Readex/NewsBank) This link opens in a new windowBooks, pamphlets and broadsides published in America over a 160-year period. Providing complete digital editions of nearly 38,000 printed works, Series I covers subjects ranging from history, literature and culture to politics, government and society.
Research Tools
- A-Z list of all DatabasesSearch a complete list of databases available through Northeastern. Use the dropdown menus at the top of the page to limit to particular subjects or types of content.
- Journals & eJournalsSearch for journals in a variety of languages by title and by category. The Religion Journal category can be further differentiated by religion or related topic.
Data and polling
- Association of Religion Data ArchiveA clearinghouse for information and surveys of American religious life. An interesting "compare yourself" tool allows you to see how your religious preferences compare to others in your demographic.
- Pew Research Center: ReligionReligion and public life, surveys and data sets covering United States and international communities.
- Pluralism ProjectLists major religions and associations in the United States.
- Roper Center Public Opinion Archives (with iPOLL) This link opens in a new windowSearch opinion polls from all over the world, using this database from Cornell University. Poll results from news organizations, governments, private foundations, academic institutions, and more. The scope of topics spans politics, culture, workplaces, and social life. 1930s to the present.