Skip to main content
We are still offering consultation services during the COVID-19 move to online instruction. Please feel free to reach out for virtual appointments! For more information on library services and resources, please click here.
COVID-19 Campus Closures
Northeastern University has moved all instruction online due to COVID-19 concerns. But you can still get help with your research! I'm available for online and phone consultations during my regular office hours; just schedule an appointment as usual. You can also reach the reference desk by text at 617-934-7876, by email, or via our QuestionPoint 24/7 chat service.
Email Me About This Guide
Email me any feedback you have about this guide -- tell me what's working and what's not.
Suggest a Purchase
Send me suggestions for new titles in this subject area.
Use the library's Suggestion Box to send us your comments on anything else library-related.
Find print and online copies of an author's work, or book-length critical analysis of that author.
Large, interdisciplinary collection of journal articles - additional in-depth, scholarly treatments of specific works or themes in that author's output, useful for articles in sociological disciplines not covered by the MLA Bibliography.
MLA International Bibliography
The core collection of scholarly information for literature - specialized journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, and conference proceedings for in-depth treatments of your author or work.
Full-text archive of high-quality scholarly journals in the humanities, including many core journals in literature and cultural studies.
Oxford English Dictionary
Covers words from across the English-speaking world, tracing their origin and history, including earliest recorded usage, through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of sources.
Early English Books Online
Virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700, with digital facsimile page images.
Encyclopedias and Overviews
Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism
Excellent overviews of literary movements, theories, critics, and concepts. Need a quick overview of aesthetics, structuralism, Gramsci, or gender theory? Check here.
Literature Resource Center
Basic reference source - critical overviews and selected criticism on a particular author, giving a grounding in who the author is and what they were known for.
Oxford Encyclopedia of American Literature
Excellent starting point for authoritative overviews of authors and topics.
Oxford Encyclopedia of British Literature
Excellent starting point for authoritative overviews of authors and topics
Oxford Reference Online
Access to the 'Oxford Reference Online: Premium Collection', 'The Literature Collection' and 'The Western Civilization Collection'.
Cambridge Histories Online
Completely searchable full text of more than 300 volumes in the Cambridge Histories series. Explore American and British history, ancient history, Islamic history, economic history, the histories of philosophy, science, music, literature, religion, social histories, and much more.
More Ways to Get Help
Visit the walk-in Research Help Desk on the first floor of the library (open 10am-6pm weekdays, 12pm-5pm weekends).
Call the Research Help Desk: (617) 373 2356.
Chat with a librarian online via Ask 24/7.
Email the library.
Report a problem (broken links, login and access problems, library systems not working).