Journals and Periodicals
- New Musical ExpressIncludes news and reviews, music videos and gossip, as well as info on concert tickets and band memorabilia
- Rolling Stone (Opens in new window)Rock & Roll, national affairs, feature stories, reviews, classified ads, and the music charts
- BillboardThe international music-record newsweekly. Industry news, legal updates, trends, and charts
Databases
- Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive (Proquest) This link opens in a new windowUS and UK trade magazines (1880-2000) covering the vaudeville era to the internet era. Includes Billboard, Variety, Broadcasting, Melody Maker and much more
- GenderWatch (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowFull articles from women's studies magazines and newsletters (including some that are hard to find in print), as well as some scholarly journals. Some articles go back to the 1970's.
Online Resources
- National Public Radio (NPR) - Rock, Pop and FolkProvides information on artists and sampling of recordings and performances and podcasts.
- Next LevelNext Level is an initiative of the U.S. Department of State, the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, and Meridian International Center. Its mission is to use hip hop music, dance, and art to foster cross-cultural creative exchange in diverse communities. Promotes understanding and supports musicians.
- Public Domain Song AnthologyA collection of 348 popular songs with modern and traditional harmonization for both study and performance. This open educational resource was curated by two leading jazz repertory experts and consists of songs in the US public domain.
- Rock's Back Pages PodcastEvery week, hosts Mark and Barney pick their highlights from the 50+ new pieces added to the database, and present an exclusive excerpt from the week's new audio interview.
Archives and Museums
- Archives of African American Music and Culture (Indiana University) (Opens in new window)A repository of materials covering a range of African American musical idioms and cultural expressions from the post-World War II era.
- Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Library and ArchivesThis Cleveland, Ohio Museum collects, preserves and interprets the impact rock has made on the world. The evolving story of rock can be found on their blog and feature pages, in addition to videos and galleries
- Boston Phoenix (2012-2013) (Northeastern University) This link opens in a new windowBack issues of the alternative newspaper The Boston Phoenix, plus sister newspapers from Worcester, Portland, Providence, and Miami, digitized through the Northeastern University Libraries. See the Internet Archive for the digitized version, 1973-2013. The print collection in the Northeastern Archives and Special collections in Snell Library may be viewed by appointment.
Streaming Media
- Free Music Archive (Opens in new window)An international interactive library of high-quality audio downloads for personal use or in media projects. Founded by WFMU, maintained by Tribe of Noise.
- Last.Fm.Recommends music, videos and concerts based on what you listen to.
- Music Online: Popular Music LibraryContains a wide range of popular music from around the world, including hundreds of thousands of tracks from major genres in pop music, including alternative, country, Christian, electronic, hip-hop, metal, punk, new age, R&B, reggae, rock, soundtracks and many more.
- YoutubeVideo sharing website.
Select Books
Black diamond queens : African American women and rock and roll by Publication Date: 2020
The Downtown Pop Underground by
The 1960s to early '70s was a pivotal time for American culture, and New York City was ground zero for seismic shifts in music, theater, art, and filmmaking. The Downtown Pop Underground takes a kaleidoscopic tour of Manhattan during this era and shows how deeply interconnected all the alternative worlds and personalities were that flourished in the basement theaters, dive bars, concert halls, and dingy tenements within one square mile of each other. Author Kembrew McLeod links the artists, writers, and performers who created change, and while some of them didn't become everyday names, others, like Patti Smith, Andy Warhol, and Debbie Harry, did become icons. Ambitious in scope and scale, the book is fueled by the actual voices of many of the key characters who broke down the entrenched divisions between high and low, gay and straight, and art and commerce--and changed the cultural landscape of not just the city but the world.
ISBN: 9781683353454Publication Date: 2018-10-23
From factory girls to K-pop idol girls : cultural politics of developmentalism, patriarchy, and neoliberalism in South Korea's popular music industry by ISBN: 9781498548830Publication Date: 2019
Radio Free Boston by
Blaring the Cream anthem "I Feel Free," WBCN went on the air in March 1968 as an experiment in free-form rock on the fledgling FM radio band. It broadcast its final song, Pink Floyd's "Shine On You Crazy Diamond," in August 2009. In between, WBCN became the musical, cultural, and political voice of the young people of Boston and New England, sustaining a vibrant local music scene that launched such artists as the J. Geils Band, Aerosmith, James Taylor, Boston, the Cars, and the Dropkick Murphys, as well as paving the way for Bruce Springsteen, Tom Petty, U2, and many others. Along the way, WBCN both pioneered and defined progressive rock radio, the dominant format for a generation of listeners. Brilliantly told by Carter Alan--and featuring the voices of station insiders and the artists they loved--Radio Free Boston is the story of a city; of artistic freedom, of music and politics and identity; and of the cultural, technological, and financial forces that killed rock radio.
ISBN: 9781555537296Publication Date: 2013-09-03
White riot : punk rock and the politics of race by Publication Date: 2011
