Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Musicians from a Different Shore by
Musicians of Asian descent enjoy unprecedented prominence in concert halls, conservatories, and classical music performance competitions. In the first book on the subject, Mari Yoshihara looks into the reasons for this phenomenon, starting with her own experience of learning to play piano in Japan at the age of three. Yoshihara shows how a confluence of culture, politics and commerce after the war made classical music a staple in middle-class households, established Yamaha as the world's largest producer of pianos and gave the Suzuki method of music training an international clientele. Soon, talented musicians from Japan, China and South Korea were flocking to the United States to study and establish careers, and Asian American families were enrolling toddlers in music classes. Against this historical backdrop, Yoshihara interviews Asian and Asian American musicians, such as Cho-Liang Lin, Margaret Leng Tan, Kent Nagano, who have taken various routes into classical music careers. They offer their views about the connections of race and culture and discuss whether the music is really as universal as many claim it to be. Their personal histories and Yoshihara's observations present a snapshot of today's dynamic and revived classical music scene.
Publication Date: 2008-05-02
Music of the highest class : elitism and populism in antebellum Boston by
"There is a fundamental duality in American musical culture between classical music and vernacular music: the classical canon of great musical works seems to be surrounded by an aura of respectability that gives it a special mystique. In this book Michael Broyles examines this duality from a social-historical perspective, tracing its origins to early nineteenth-century Boston and showing how specifically American forces gave it a different profile from similar developments in Europe.
Publication Date: 1992
Classical Music: Journals and Periodicals
Searching the academic literature:
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts of articles on a global range of topics: historical musicology, ethnomusicology, instruments, voice, dance, music therapy.
- What this includes: Articles, books, bibliographies, catalogues, dissertations, conference proceedings, reviews, and more. Covers 1967 - present.
Individual journals of interest
Searching the academic literature
African Diaspora Music Project
Search over 2000 pieces by Black composers. The first phase of the project is focused on art songs.
A site focusing on African American performers and composers and on the vocal music forms they influenced, especially opera, art songs and Negro spirituals composed for concert performance.
Beyond Elijah Rock: The Non-Idiomatic Choral Music of Black Composers
A spreadsheet of choral music outside the traditional idiomatic canon associated with black musicians (spirituals, gospel, jazz, hip-hop, etc.).
Features more than 9000 pages and 20,000+ images including more than 7200 CD, SACD, DVD, Blu-ray, Book and Concert reviews and over 5500 links to other classical music web sites.
Doctoral Dissertations in Musicology Online
An international database of bibliographic records for completed dissertations and new dissertation topics in the fields of musicology, music theory, and ethnomusicology, as well as in related musical, scientific, and humanistic disciplines.
Golden Pages for Musicologists
Provide announcements for forthcoming conferences in musicology and related disciplines, an archive of dissertation abstracts, links to music departments worldwide, and other links of interest to musicologists.
Inclusive Early Music
The Bibliography is a work in progress and benefits from users' feedback. Its main focus is the variety of contexts in which "Early Music" happened, with special attention to people who—because of race, gender, geographical origins, or social status—have been left out of the mainstream musicological narrative.
The priority for the Inclusive Early Music Collective is on music before 1600, in order to keep the collection manageable and user-friendly. However, given the contingency of chronological divisions on place and musical tradition, sources from as late as about 1750 may be appropriate for inclusion."
Institute for Composer Diversity
The Institute for Composer Diversity is committed to the celebration, education, and advocacy of music created by composers from historically underrepresented genders, racial, ethnic, and cultural heritages, and sexual orientations as well as disabled composers.Research resources plus databases of composers and works searchable by genre, ensemble, and composers' demographic information.
Jewish Choral Music
Jewish Choral Music is a comprehensive resource center for anyone interested in discovering a repertoire that is rich, but relatively unknown. You will find a variety of styles: folkloristic, popular, and classical. Chronology spanning ancient chant, baroque motets and cantatas and oratorios, classic/romantic majestic synagogue music, twentieth-and twenty-first-century secular and sacred music.
information on all Metropolitan Opera performances since 1883.
Music by Black Composers
Educational resources for students and performers. Includes a directory of living composers
New Music USA Online Library
A searchable new American music database that provides access to digital scores, sound files and biographical information on composers.
New York Philharmonic: Leon Levy Digital Archives
This Performance History database documents all known concerts of all of these organizations, amounting to more than 20,000 performances. The New York Philharmonic Leon Levy Digital Archives provides an additional interface for searching printed programs alongside other digitized items such as marked music scores, marked orchestral parts, business records, and photos.
A powerful search tool allows you to search the details of over 65,000 opera performances since August 2013.
Provides an interface to the Humdrum thema command, which allows searching of databases containing musical themes or incipits.
Open Access Scores and Archival Material
Archives of African American Music and Culture (Indiana University)
A repository of materials covering a range of African American musical idioms and cultural expressions from the post-World War II era. The collections include many genres, including classical.
This large database explores the constantly updated research findings on Johann Sebastian Bach and other composers in his family.
Chopin Early Editions
(University of Chicago)
Choral Public Domain Library
A collection of thousands of choral scores, all of which can be downloaded royalty-free.
Ad-supported and crowd-sourced library of musical scores and sheet music.
International Music Score Library Project
A community-built library of public domain sheet music. Extensive collection of original scores scanned to PDF.
Juilliard Manuscript Collection
Browsable resource presenting digitized versions of 138 original holograph manuscript sources held at the Juilliard Library.
Library of Congress Performing Arts Encyclopedia
This tool provides information about the Library of Congress' unsurpassed collections of scores, sheet music, audio recordings, films, photographs, and other materials.
(Sibley Music Library, Eastman School of Music)
New Mozart Edition
The digitized version offers the musical text and the critical commentary of the entire New Mozart Edition. Some restrictions apply to the reproduction of images of source materials, particularly in the supplement to the edition.
Online catalog of musical sources.
Sheet Music Consortium
A group of libraries working toward the goal of building an open collection of digitized sheet music using the Open Archives Initiative Protocol for Metadata Harvesting.
UK and Ireland Concert Programs
Provides descriptions of concert program collections held by leading libraries, archives and museums in the UK and Ireland, thereby improving access to a vital source of information about musical life from the eighteenth century to the present day.