Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
American Music: Select Books
Related Guides on this site
American Music: Journals and Periodicals
American Music (Journal, JSTOR)
Publishes articles on American composers, performers, publishers, institutions, events, and the music industry, as well as book and recording reviews, bibliographies, and discographies.
Black Music Research Journal (Journal, Project Muse)
Begun in 1980, this journal includes articles about the philosophy, aesthetics, history, and criticism of black music.
A multimedia publication--fostering connections, deepening knowledge, encouraging appreciation, and providing financial support for new music created in the United States.
RIPM Jazz Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Facsimiles of 105 full text American jazz journals published between 1914 and 2006. Significant journals include, among others, Cadence, Down Beat, Mississippi Rag, and Record Changer. Images, advertisements included.
Sing Out! Magazine and Resource Center
Published since 1950, Sing Out! Magazine is a quarterly folk music journal and support site. Each issue includes traditional and contemporary folk songs, feature articles on the best of folk music and the artists who make it ... plus news, reviews and more!The Sing Out! Resource Center is a multimedia collection of folk music recordings, photos, books, periodicals (and much more) collected over the last 60+ years, available free to Basic and Sustaining members of Sing Out!
Online Archives and Resources
American Archive of Public Broadcasting
This collection is a collaboration of resources between the Library of Congress and the WGBH Educational Foundation to preserve at-risk public media and provide a central web portal for access to unique programming.
American Folk Life Center
Established in the Library of Congress Music Division in 1928, this is one of the largest archives of ethnographic materials from the United States and around the world.
Black Grooves: reviews of new Black music resources.
Sponsored by sponsored by the Indiana University Archives of African American Music and Culture.
Lomax Digital Archive
Alan Lomax's massive archive of songs and interviews. "Alan Lomax recorded a staggering amount of folk music. He worked from the 1930s to the '90s, and traveled from the Deep South to the mountains of West Virginia, all the way to Europe, the Caribbean and Asia." Includes recordings of his father, John Lomax.
New Music USA Online Library
A searchable new American music database that provides access to digital scores, sound files and biographical information on composers.
Next Level is an initiative of the U.S. Department of State, the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, and Meridian International Center. Its mission is to use hip hop music, dance, and art to foster cross-cultural creative exchange in diverse communities. We work to promote understanding and conflict transformation in these audiences, and support the professional development of artists in those communities.
Oral History of American Music (OHAM) Yale University
Since the 1960s, OHAM collects and preserves audio and video memoirs in the voices of major musical figures of our time.
Sounding Spirit Digital Library
"This Sounding Spirit pilot digital library features songbooks and hymnals published across the southern United States from 1850 to 1925. Spanning holdings from four partner archives, the digital library’s twenty-two books include words-only hymnals, gospel songbooks, spiritual collections, and shape-note tunebooks, demonstrating the wide variety of form, content, and presentation in southern vernacular sacred songbooks.
Decolonizing and Reframing
DRAM (Database of Recorded American Music) This link opens in a new window
Diverse American recorded music, from folk to opera, Native American to jazz, 19th century classical to early rock, musical theater, contemporary, electronic and beyond, available for streaming.
American Music (Alexander Street Press Music Online) This link opens in a new window
Songs and music by and about Native Americans, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers and cowboys. Included are the songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests and more.
- What this includes: Streaming music, album art and liner notes
Scores and Historical Archives