Databases and E Journals
- Indigenous Histories and Cultures in North America (Adam Matthew) This link opens in a new windowSpanning four centuries and covering North and Central America, this digital resource provides access to material from the Newberry Library’s extensive Edward E. Ayer Collection; one of the strongest archival collections on American Indian history in the world.
- Billboard (Opens in new window)The international newsweekly of music, video and home entertainment; profiles, commentary, album ratings, feature articles, marketing and reviews. Academic One File provides full-text coverage from 1991-current.
For coverage from 1963 to 2000, use the Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive.
- Ebony Magazine Archive (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowThe Ebony Magazine Archive covers civil rights, education, entrepreneurship and other social topics with an African-American focus, including more than 800 issues providing a broad view of African-American culture from its first issue in 1945 through 2014.
- Entertainment Industry Magazine ArchiveCovers entertainment history in US and UK trade magazines from the vaudeville era to 2000. Read articles in Billboard, Variety, Broadcasting, Melody Maker, to name a few.
- Ethnic News WatchIncludes interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. It includes the Bay State Banner, an independent newspaper primarily geared toward the readership interests of Boston's African-American community.
- Historical Black Newspapers (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowRich collection of news coverage important to a full understanding of United States history. Includes the Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003), Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988), Chicago Defender (1910-1975),Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005), New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993), and the Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002).
- RIPM Jazz Periodicals This link opens in a new windowFacsimiles of 105 full text American jazz journals published between 1914 and 2006. Significant journals include, among others, Cadence, Down Beat, Mississippi Rag, and Record Changer. Images, advertisements included.
- Rolling Stone (Opens in new window)Rock & Roll, national affairs, feature stories, reviews, classified ads, and the music charts. Find out where your favorite group stands in the ratings.
Black Composers and Composition
- Beyond Elijah Rock: The Non-Idiomatic Choral Music of Black Composers (Opens in new window)
"This a working list of the non-idiomatic choral music of black composers. In no way is it meant to be an exhaustive list." from Marques L. A. Garrett, conductor and educator at Univ. of North Texas - Composers of Color Resource ProjectThis webpage houses resources for music by composers of color. It is not intended to be limited to (a) “traditional” music theory topics or (b) notated music in the Western art music tradition.
- Institute for Composer DiversityThe Institute for Composer Diversity "is dedicated to the celebration, education, and advocacy of music created by composers from historically underrepresented groups through database resources and programming analysis."
- Music by Black Composers
A directory of all historic Black composers. - Lifting the Cone of Silence From Black Composers (NY Times) In this essay, George E. Lewis highlights some of the ways African-American composers have explored what it means — and could mean — to be American, helping to foster a creolized, cosmopolitan new music for the 21st century.
Biographical and Reference Sources
- Oxford Music Online: Grove Music OnlineThe World's premier online music encyclopedia, offering comprehensive coverage of music, musicians, music-making, and music scholarship.
American sabor : Latinos and latinas in US popular music by ISBN: 9780295742632Publication Date: 2018
The Encyclopedia of Native Music by
Want the word on Buffy Sainte-Marie? Looking for the best powwow recordings? Wondering what else Jim Pepper cut besides "Witchi Tai To"? This book will answer those questions and more as it opens up the world of Native American music.In addition to the widely heard sounds of Carlos Nakai's flute, Native music embraces a wide range of forms: country and folk, jazz and swing, reggae and rap.
ISBN: 0816524475Publication Date: 2005-04-01
Sourcebook for Research in Music, Third Edition by
Since it was first published in 1993, the Sourcebook for Research in Music has become an invaluable resource in musical scholarship. The balance between depth of content and brevity of format makes it ideal for use as a textbook for students, a reference work for faculty and professional musicians, and as an aid for librarians. The introductory chapter includes a comprehensive list of bibliographical terms with definitions; bibliographic terms in German, French, and Italian; and the plan of the Library of Congress and the Dewey Decimal music classification systems. Integrating helpful commentary to instruct the reader on the scope and usefulness of specific items, this updated and expanded edition accounts for the rapid growth in new editions of standard works, in fields such as ethnomusicology, performance practice, women in music, popular music, education, business, and music technology. These enhancements to its already extensive bibliographies ensures that the Sourcebook will continue to be an indispensable reference for years to come.
ISBN: 9780253014566Publication Date: 2015-06-01
