Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Jazz Diaspora by
This book is about the international diaspora of jazz, well underway within a year of the first jazz recordings in 1917. It studies the processes of the global jazz diaspora and its implications for jazz historiography in general, arguing for its relevance to the fields of sonic studies and cognitive theory.
Publication Date: 2019-10-16
Jews and Jazz by
Jews and Jazz: Improvising Ethnicity explores the meaning of Jewish involvement in the world of American jazz. It focuses on the ways prominent jazz musicians like Stan Getz, Benny Goodman, Artie Shaw, Lee Konitz, Dave Liebman, Michael Brecker, and Red Rodney have engaged with jazz in order to explore and construct ethnic identities. The author looks at Jewish identity through jazz in the context of the surrounding American culture, believing that American Jews have used jazz to construct three kinds of identities: to become more American, to emphasize their minority outsider status, and to become more Jewish. From the beginning, Jewish musicians have used jazz for all three of these purposes, but the emphasis has shifted over time. In the 1920s and 1930s, when Jews were seen as foreign, Jews used jazz to make a more inclusive America, for themselves and for blacks, establishing their American identity. Beginning in the 1940s, as Jews became more accepted into the mainstream, they used jazz to "re-minoritize" and avoid over-assimilation through identification with African Americans. Finally, starting in the 1960s as ethnic assertion became more predominant in America, Jews have used jazz to explore and advance their identities as Jews in a multicultural society.
Publication Date: 2016-10-14
Make It New by
As jazz enters its second century it is reasserting itself as dynamic and relevant. Boston Globe jazz writer and Emerson College professor Bill Beuttler reveals new ways in which jazz is engaging with society through the vivid biographies and music of Jason Moran, Vijay Iyer, Rudresh Mahanthappa, The Bad Plus, Miguel Zenón, Anat Cohen, Robert Glasper, and Esperanza Spalding.
Publication Date: 2019-10-01
Digital Repository Service Collections
The John Coltrane Memorial Concert Collection
The first John Coltrane Memorial Concert (JCMC) was performed on the tenth anniversary of John Coltrane's death on July 17, 1977. In a performance space established by percussionist Syd Smart called the Friends of Great Black Music Loft, a group of musicians played to honor Coltrane and his legacy. The JCMC was created thought the efforts of Syd Smart, saxophonist Leonard Brown, and bassist Hayes Burnet.
Ebony Magazine Archive (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
The Ebony Magazine Archive covers civil rights, education, entrepreneurship and other social topics with an African-American focus, including more than 800 issues providing a broad view of African-American culture from its first issue in 1945 through 2014.
RIPM Jazz Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Facsimiles of 105 full text American jazz journals published between 1914 and 2006. Significant journals include, among others, Cadence, Down Beat, Mississippi Rag, and Record Changer. Images, advertisements included.
Scores and Archive Material
All About Jazz
Includes jazz reviews, interviews, news, forums, videos, downloads, photos, clubs, calendars and more
Hamilton College Jazz Archive
Established in 1995, this Archives holds a collection of videotaped interviews with jazz musicians arrangers, writers and critics.
Portal for the official websites of hundreds of jazz musicians and organizations
Louisiana State Museum Jazz Collection
Chronicles the music and careers of the people who created, enhanced and continue in the tradition of New Orleans jazz at the local, national and international levels
Monterey Jazz Festival Collection
This exhibit provides information about the Monterey Jazz Festival, its history, and many of the musicians who performed there. As more content is added to this exhibit, it will be possible to access information about audio and video recordings in the Festival's archive at Stanford University, and you will be able to search or browse through the listings to discover musical performances and other events.
National Jazz Museum in Harlem
This museum preserves, promote, and presents jazz by inspiring knowledge, appreciation and celebration of jazz locally, nationally, and internationally.
National Public Radio (NPR): Jazz and Blues
Information on artists and sampling of recordings and performances
The Red Hot Jazz Archive
A multi-media history and discography of pre-1930 jazz
Schomberg Center for Research in Black Culture
A research unit of The New York Public Library, this Center is generally recognized as one of the leading institutions of its kind in the world. For over 80 years it has collected, preserved, and provided access to materials documenting black life, and promoted the study and interpretation of the history and culture of peoples of African descent.
Smithsonian Institution Jazz Collections and Archives
Through world-class collections, scholarship, concerts, exhibitions and programs, Smithsonian Jazz at the National Museum of American History explores and celebrates the American experience through the transformative power of jazz.