Select Books
Rhetorics of belonging : nation, narration and Israel/Palestine by Publication Date: 2013
Contemporary Jewish writing in Europe/ by Publication Date: 2008
Passing fancies in Jewish American literature and culture by Publication Date: 2019
Rise and fall Jewish American literature : ethnic studies and the challenge of identity by Publication Date: 2020
Around the point : studies in Jewish literature and culture in multiple languages by Publication Date: 2014
Select E-Journals
- Naharaim Peer-reviewed coverage of current research in philosophical, literary, and historical aspects of German-Jewish culture. Indexed in Jewish Studies SourcePublication Date: 2009-
- Studies in Jewish American Literature "The influence on American culture of thinkers such as Roth, Bellow, Malamud, Piercy, Wiesel, Potok, and Chabon cannot be overstated. Their impact can be seen in literature, philosophy, theater, and film. Studies in American Jewish Literature explores a field that has advanced in large part due to the efforts of Daniel Walden, who founded the journal in 1975. Articles on the ongoing influence, relevance, and significance of American Jewish writers contribute to our understanding of their unique place in literature and their role in portraying the complexity and richness of American Jewish life and experience."Publication Date: 1981-
- Studies in Jewish American LiteraturePublication Date: 1975-1979
Databases: Check "Key Resources" for Additional Databases
- Index to Jewish Periodicals WITH Jewish Studies Source (EbscoHOST) This link opens in a new windowCitations and abstracts to English-language articles and book reviews on Jewish history, activity and thought in more than 220 journals devoted to Jewish affairs, combined with full text periodicals in Jewish Studies Source.
Websites
- Association of Jewish Libraries "Promotes Jewish literacy through enhancement of libraries and library resources and through leadership for the profession and practitioners of Judaica librarianship. The Association fosters access to information, learning, teaching and research relating to Jews, Judaism, the Jewish experience and Israel."
- Jewish Book Council Serves as the "national resource center for information about the American Jewish literary scene."
- Jewish Book World "Helps readers learn about new books of Jewish interest and make informed reading choices though articles on authors, literary themes, author interviews and book group guides."
- Jewish Women's Archives-Book Clubs and Talks "The Jewish Women’s Archive documents Jewish women’s stories, elevates their voices, and inspires them to be agents of change."
Judaic Texts Online
- Bar Ilan Responsa ProjectA collection of Torah literature representing a period of over three thousand years of heritage and tradition.
- Bibliography of the Hebrew BookIncludes the national bibliography of the Jewish people and detailed descriptions of all Jewish literature printed in Hebrew characters, for all types and in all languages.
- FootprintsDatabase that tracks the circulation of printed "Jewish books" (in Hebrew, other Jewish languages, and books in Latin and non-Jewish vernaculars with Judaica contents).
- SefariaProvides digital access to major Jewish religious texts. Its digital programing allows for unique visualizations and interfaces that demonstrate, among other things, the interconnections between texts.
Manuscripts
- Friedberg Jewish Manuscript ProjectFree registration is required. This site provides digital access to manuscripts and early printings as well as other books and documents as they relate to Judaism and Jews.
- Ktiv: International Collection of Digitized Hebrew Manuscripts Project that aims to provide centralized digital access to the complete corpus of existing Hebrew manuscripts.
- What are Hebrew Manuscripts?This is a short video about Hebrew manuscripts and their preservation by the National Library of Israel.