New Library Materials
- American JewBu: Jews, Buddhists, and Religious Change byPublication Date: 2019
- Gendering Modern Jewish Thought byPublication Date: 2021
- Jewish mysticism : from ancient times through today byPublication Date: 2020
- Trans Talmud : androgynes and eunuchs in rabbinic literature byPublication Date: 2022
- Waste not : a Jewish environmental ethic byPublication Date: 2019
Article Databases
- AnthroSource An online service of the American Anthropological Association (AAA), AnthroSource offers access to backfiles of up to 100 years, as well as current content from AAA's 32 anthropological publications which includes journals, books, monographs, bulletins and newsletters.
- JStor A trusted digital archive of academic journals and other scholarly content. Most journals include extended historic backfiles and not current issues.
- PAIS Index International in scope, provides coverage of the social sciences, from 1915 to present.
- Project Muse Articles from journals in the humanities, including religion, literature, philosophy, cultural studies, women's studies, film and the arts. Coverage is generally from about 1994 to the present, depending on the journal.
Current Events
- Haaretz (lit. "The Land", originally Chadashot Ha'aretz - "News of the Land") is Israel's oldest daily newspaper. (Ad-supported free version.)
- Hebrew TodayLog in with your credentials in upper right.
- Jewish Currents, 2012-current Progressive Jewish magazine that carries on the insurgent tradition of the Jewish left through independent journalism, political commentary, and a "countercultural" approach to Jewish arts and literature.
- Press Reader Provides online access to today's newspapers from over 100 countries around the world in over 60 languages in a full-color, full-page format. Includes four publications from Israel.
- Tablet Magazine Daily online magazine of Jewish news, ideas and culture.
- Ynetnews Israel's most comprehensive, authoritative daily source for 24/7 breaking news & current events from Israel and Jewish content online.
Streaming Video and Film Collections
- Academic Video Online (Alexander Street Press) This link opens in a new windowAcademic Video Online Premium provides video content to a broad range of subject areas, including documentaries and journalistic content on topics in business, politics, history, music, public health, education and more. Training videos are also available.
- Docuseek This link opens in a new windowDocumentary films for higher education including the Good Docs Collection.
- Films on Demand (FMG) This link opens in a new windowOver 200 films are available. Please let us know if you would like to suggest a film.Films include closed captions and transcripts.
- Kanopy Streaming This link opens in a new windowA curated collection of films for the Northeastern community, including feature films as well as high-interest documentaries. You may use Scholar OneSearch to find out if Northeastern has a particular film. Closed captions and transcripts included. Films provided by HBO and Neon Films cannot be viewed outside of the U.S.
Streaming Music Collections
Jewish Genealogy Resources
- Jewish GenFeatures thousands of databases, research tools, and other resources to help those with Jewish ancestry research and find family members.
Websites
- Hebcal.comA Jewish calendar tool that lets you generate a list of Jewish holidays for any year (past, present or future). Also available are a Hebrew date converter, Shabbat candle lighting times and Torah readings (both full kriyah and triennial system), and a page to look up yahrzeits, birthdays and anniversaries.
Open Access Historical Newspapers
- Archive of the Jewish Telegraphic Agency This is an open-access digital archive of its global news coverage going back to 1923.
- Internet Archive of German-Jewish Periodicals Know as Compact Memory, this is a project of Goethe University in Frankfurt am Main, and includes digitizations of 335 Jewish newspapers and journals of German-speaking Europe between 1768 and 1938.
- The Tel Aviv University and National Library of Israel Jewish Historical Press This site has digitized 229 historical newspapers in 12 languages.
