Archives, Museums, Testimonies and Oral Histories
- British Library Voices of the Holocaust Online Exhibit a collection of oral history testimonies by Holocaust survivors who came to Britain during World War II and after.
- Facing History and Ourselves: Brookline, MA Our mission is to engage students of diverse backgrounds in an examination of racism, prejudice, and antisemitism in order to promote the development of a more humane and informed citizenry.
- Fortunoff Video Archive for Holocaust Testimonies (Yale University Library) The Fortunoff Archive currently holds more than 4,400 testimonies, which are comprised of over 10,000 recorded hours of videotape. Testimonies were produced in cooperation with 37 affiliated projects across North America, South America, Europe, and Israel, and each project maintains a duplicate collection of locally recorded videotapes.
- Jewish Women's Archive Based in Brookline, MA, this national organization is dedicated to collecting and promoting the extraordinary stories of Jewish women.
- Yad Vashem- The World Holocaust Remembrance Center Located in Jerusalem, Yad Vashem, the World Holocaust Remembrance Center, is the ultimate source for Holocaust education, documentation and research. This website includes unique digital collections.
Select Books
The Holocaust : origins, implementation, aftermath by Publication Date: 2000
Shaping losses : cultural memory and the Holocaust by Publication Date: 2001
Well worth saving: America's life-and-death decisions on Nazi refugees from Europe. by Publication Date: 2019
Holocaust: an American understanding by Publication Date: 2016
The lost: the search for six million by Publication Date: 2006- Third World Views of the Holocaust byPublication Date: 2003
Holocaust Studies E-Journals
Databases
- ATLA Religion Database (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowResearch scholarly articles and books on biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religion in social issues. Links to full text for Northeastern-subscribed materials.
- Index to Jewish Periodicals WITH Jewish Studies Source (EbscoHOST) This link opens in a new windowCitations and abstracts to English-language articles and book reviews on Jewish history, activity and thought in more than 220 journals devoted to Jewish affairs, combined with full text periodicals in Jewish Studies Source.
- Historical Newspapers (Proquest) This link opens in a new windowA curated selection of historical newspapers in facsimile and full text, including all titles in Historical Black Newspapers plus additional titles.
Reference Sources
- The Holocaust: an encyclopedia and document collection This encyclopedia “provides students with an all-encompassing resource for learning about this tragic event--a four-book collection that provides detailed information as well as multidisciplinary perspectives that will serve as a gateway to meaningful discussion and further research.” It includes reference entries, primary documents, memoirs and personal narratives.Publication Date: 2017
- Holocaust Chronicle Contains every word and image that appear in the print edition of The Holocaust Chronicle, published by Publications International, Ltd in April 2000.
- Rediscovering the Refugee Scholars of the Nazi Era This is a digital history and research project created with the assistance of the New York Public Library retracing the lives and pathways of scholars who attempted to flee Nazi persecution in the 1930s and 1940s.
FIlms
- Holocaust Education Film Foundation The Foundation "was established to build an international, interactive online community one Holocaust Survivor Story at a time; ensuring we “Never Forget.”'
- Holocaust Films (by title)- Wikipedia In alphabetical order by title, includes documentaries and narratives.
- List of Holocaust Films (by year and country)-Wikipedia Documentaries and narratives are listed in chronological order.
Northeastern University's Holocaust and Genocide Awareness Committee Digital Archives
- Holocaust and Genocide Awareness Committee ArchivesThis collection includes program materials and videos, of the 40+ year-old Northeastern organization that are housed in the Library's Archives and Special Collections and made accessible via the Library's Digital Repository Service.
Northeastern University Archives and Special Collections
- Holocaust Awareness Committee Records The Northeastern University (NU) Holocaust Awareness Committee (HAC) was organized in 1991 and is affiliated with the NU Office of Spiritual Life. Prior to HAC's organization in 1991, NU had an annual Holocaust Remembrance Week, which was organized by the Office of Religious Life (later renamed the Office of Spiritual Life) between 1977 and 1991. Membership includes NU students, faculty, and staff of various religious and ethnic backgrounds. The HAC's primary purpose is to remember the Holocaust, not only as a historical fact and a memorial to its millions of victims, but also as a warning for the future. The HAC presents programs that bear witness to the Holocaust and explore issues arising out of the War of Extermination against Jews and other groups targeted by the Nazis. NU has held annual Holocaust Remembrance programs since 1977. By 2000 Holocaust Awareness Week featured several annual events including a yearly breakfast hosted by the University President, the Robert Salomon Morton Lecture, a film screening, and the Philip N. Backstrom, Jr. Annual Holocaust Survivor Lecture Series. In 2010, the HAC became a standing committee within the College of Social Science and Humanities, with the Ruderman professor of Jewish Studies serving as a member ex officio and ordinarily chaired by the Stotsky Professor. In the early 2010s, the Northeastern Law School took over hosting the annual memorial service on Yom HaShoah, in addition to sponsoring lectures of its own. In 2012, the annual film series was named in honor of Bill Giessen.
- Jewish Renaissance Project Oral Histories The Jewish Renaissance Project (2000-2002), students collected video oral histories (video) of Jewish-American World War II Army veterans George Kaiser and Maurice A. Amdur. The veterans describe their experiences in the Army during World War II and the impact the war had on their lives.
- Oral History Center Records These records document the efforts between 1978 and 1998 to collect the stories of groups often overlooked by history, including women, children, immigrants, and minorities, in the Cambridge and Boston area.
- Third World Views of the Holocaust Records During his term of appointment as Stotsky Professor, of Jewish Historical and Cultural Studies July 1, 1998 through June 30, 2002, political science professor William F.S. Miles organized a symposium to discuss how the Holocaust has been integrated into the cultures and societies of third world nations. Held on April 18-22, 2001, speakers from third world nations including India, Mexico, and Cambodia, gathered to discuss the integration of the Holocaust into their cultures and societies.