Welcome to the NU Libraries Jewish Studies page.
Get Started with Your Research:
-
Once you have your topic, use Scholar OneSearch to search all of the library collections, articles and more from one search box. Browse the tabs at the top of this guide to access a range of resources. We have a large collection of video and audio titles.
- Search research databases.
- Review E-journals.
- View and listen to streaming media.
- Peruse E-book collections.
- Access other Subject Guides--research by discipline.
- Investigate theses and dissertations.
- Ask a librarian for help.
Key Resources
- ATLA Religion Database (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowResearch scholarly articles and books on biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religion in social issues. Links to full text for Northeastern-subscribed materials.
- Bar Ilan Responsa Project Collection of Torah literature representing a period of over three thousand years of heritage and tradition.
- Cambridge Histories-Jewish Studies Presenting history as a continuous and evolutionary process, the Cambridge Histories offer a big picture perspective in each subject area, making them essential reading for anyone researching or studying a subject that has an historical element.
- HaMapah: Quantitative Analysis of Rabbinic Literature uses quantitative and geographic analysis to visualize the dissemination of rabbinic literature.
- Index to Jewish Periodicals WITH Jewish Studies Source (EbscoHOST) This link opens in a new windowCitations and abstracts to English-language articles and book reviews on Jewish history, activity and thought in more than 220 journals devoted to Jewish affairs, combined with full text periodicals in Jewish Studies Source.
- RAMBI-Index of Articles on Jewish Studies This multilingual database includes academic articles in Jewish studies and Israel studies. It is maintained by the National Library of Israel and updated daily.
- Religion Database (Proquest) This link opens in a new windowPrimarily full-text academic articles on religious and spiritual studies, covering theological studies and social issues from the perspectives of many worldwide religions. Also professional information and titles from religious publishers.
- Sefaria: a Living Library of Jewish Texts Sefaria is assembling a free living library of Jewish texts and their interconnections, in Hebrew and in translation.
- Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy is an online encyclopedia with articles on all aspects of philosophy, including many excellent entries relating to Jewish philosophy, religious ideas, and controversies (see for example “Maimonides,” “mysticism,” and “Spinoza”).
Atlases, Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
- Atlas of Medieval Jewish History-- Shelf Location: Snell Library Remote Annex G1034 .B413 1992
- Atlas of Modern Jewish History--Shelf Location:Remote Annex G1030 .F6513 1990
- Encyclopedia of Jewish History and Culture Translated from German into English, approximately 800 keywords and 40 articles present the current state of international research and depict a complex portrait of Jewish life illustrated by many maps and images.
- The Yivo Encyclopedia of Jews in Eastern Europe an online encylopedia with articles from leading scholars and links to many of YIVO’s digitized resources, especially photographs and documents.
Jewish Studies Publications and Projects
The Program in Jewish Studies at Northeastern has a blog to engage students, faculty, and the community. Read it at https://nujewishstudiesblog.org Subscribe and join the conversation.
Digital History of the Jews in Boston (DH Jews of Boston) is an accessible and interactive resource for exploring Boston’s Jewish history created by Simon Rabinovitch and his students. The projects highlight the ways in which the history of the Jews in Boston is intertwined with that of many other communities in the city. All of the projects on this site have been created–from design to execution–by Northeastern University students.
- Jewish Studies' Student Research Guide --online resources for student researchThe page is maintained by Simon Rabinovitch: email suggestions and new resources to: s.rabinovitch@northeastern.edu.
Northeastern University Departments and Organizations
- Northeastern University Hillel Student organization which brings Jewish cultural, educational, and religious programs to campus.