This is the "Home" page of the "Ebooks and Ebook Collections at Northeastern University Libraries" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Ebooks and Ebook Collections at Northeastern University Libraries  

Last Updated: May 10, 2013 URL: http://subjectguides.lib.neu.edu/ebooks Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

E-Books at NU Library

NU Library owns or subscribes to over two hundred thousand e-books individually or in packaged collections.  Use the library catalog, NUCat, to identify and link to individual titles by keyword, title or author.

Faculty members may place e-books on course reserve in the library

At the main NUCat page, you can limit your search to Ebooks by selecting from the "View Entire Collection" dropdown menu.


 

ABOUT THE E-BOOK COLLECTIONS

The E-book collections described here come from a variety of vendors and publishers, and each has its own look and feel.   However, most have some functions in common, such as:

  • Browse the collection by title or topic

  • Search the collection 

    • options may include keyword searching of the full text, or limiting to a specific field, such as title, author or subject.

    • caveat: In some cases, search results will display non-subscribed titles.  Look for options to limit to subscribed materials or symbols indicating level of access.  You may be able to acquire non-subscribed content in hard copy through the library's interlibrary loan services.
  • Search for a keyword or phrase within a selected book

  • Browse a selected book by table of contents

  • Personalization options, such as:

    • save searches

    • create a bookshelf

    • annotate a book, adding highlighting and notes

  • Books can be read in a browser and in some cases can be downloaded for a specified borrowing period to compatible e-book readers.  Specifics are noted in the descriptions of individual products.

  • In most cases, printing and downloading are limited.  Specifics are noted in the descriptions of individual products.

  • Books in e-book collections are cataloged in the library catalog NUCat.
 

Questions about E-books?

Ask a librarian

You can get in touch with a reference librarian any time.  Visit us at the desk on the second level, Snell Library, or contact us by phone, text, chat, or email

 

Subject Guides

See the individual subject research guides created by librarians for links to more ebooks.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip