Images
- ARTStorContains millions of images for use in educational presentations. Images may not be manipulated. Read site's Terms and Conditions for more information.
- Flickr Creative CommonsPhotographs and images offered under a Creative Commons license provide an alternative to full copyright. Users need to follow attribution licenses, but most images are free to use.
- Freedom House PhotographsOver 2400 images and photographs selected from the Freedom House records held in the NU Libraries, Archives and Special Collections. The images date from 1950-1975 and document early activities to create an integrated Roxbury; citizen participation in the urban renewal of Roxbury; and early oversight of Boston Public Schools desegregation.
- Northeastern University Historical Photographs This link opens in a new windowA growing collection of images relating to the University from 1902 to the present. In the collection, you will find representations of academic programs, student life, faculty, the campus, athletics, and University events including commencement.
- Wikimedia Commons ImagesImages in the Wikimedia Commons are typically free to use. Users need to comply with the attribution license.
Video Archives
- American Archive of Public BroadcastingThe American Archive of Public Broadcasting (AAPB) is a collaboration between the Library of Congress and the WGBH Educational Foundation to coordinate a national effort to preserve at-risk public media before its content is lost to posterity.
- Boston TV News Digital LibraryThis collaboration between the Boston Public Library, Cambridge Community Television, Northeast Historic Film and WGBH Educational Foundation aims to bring to life local news stories produced in and about Boston from the early 1960’s to 2000.
The project comprises an online catalog of news content from Boston Public Library’s WHDH film collection (1960- mid-1970s), Cambridge Community Television (1988 to 1999), Northeast Historic Film’s WCVB film collection (1970-1979), and WGBH-produced The Reporters (1970-1973), Evening Compass (1973-1975) and the Ten O’Clock News.
So far, over 500 film reels and tapes have been digitized for streaming. This amounts to over 100 hours of freely accessible historical news footage. - Lower Roxbury Black History ProjectVideo and audio oral histories of Boston's Lower Roxbury neighborhood.
- Meet the Press ArchivesMeet the Press from Alexander Street opens up a wealth of information to libraries by making over 1,500 hours of footage—the full surviving broadcast run to date—available online in one cross-searchable interface.
