It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
In this eye-opening narrative of the efforts to raise, preserve, protest, and remove Confederate monuments, Karen L. Cox depicts what these statues meant to those who erected them and how a movement arose to force a reckoning.
Shelley's Ozymandias and Saddam Hussein's "Victory Arch" are jumping-off points for this classic work discussing the interplay between art, politics and the nature of totalitarianism, and how public art can become a weapon of dictatorship.
Explores the effects of major upheavals--wars, decolonization, and other social and economic changes--on the ways in which public histories are presented around the world. Individual chapters on sites and works. International focus.
Debates and conflicts over the memorialization of Confederate "heroes" have stormed to the forefront of popular American political and cultural discourse. Levinson considers the tangled responses to controversial monuments and commemorations while examining how those with political power configure public spaces in ways that shape public memory and politics. International, legal perspectives.
Articles in professional and scholarly art journals. Use the "peer reviewed" filter for academic journal articles.
This collection includes the specialist indexes ARTbibliographies Modern (covering modern and contemporary art), Design and Applied Arts Index (for all aspects of design and crafts) and the International Bibliography of Art (covering scholarship on Western art history), together with a complementary collection of current full-text journals, Arts and Humanities Full Text.
Citations and abstracts of scholarly, peer-reviewed articles and professional association news and information since 1934, covering the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation and interior design and decoration. Links to full text.
You can search Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals to locate articles published in architecture or design focused journals or magazines that include plans, sections, drawings, etc. Click on Advanced Search and type in a building, concept, or architect on which you would like to find related images. Under the Document Feature options, select the appropriate filter and click Search. This should return results for articles that include those specific types of images. Once you find a relevant article, use the "Check for full text" button for access options to the article and its images.