Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

History: Citation FAQ

How do I get access to the Chicago Manual of Style?

Link here:  Chicago Manual of Style (NU login required)

Can I just find some basic examples?

Yes, see a list of basic examples for books, articles, and chapters.

What if I don't have the original source, but want to cite it as quoted by someone else? ("quoted in" or "secondary" citing)

See an example of how to cite someone quoted by someone else.

How do I cite an archive or digital collection?

The Chicago Manual offers an archives and manuscripts overview and some examples.

How do I create short-form entries for the Chicago Notes and Bibliography style? (Endnote/Word)

In the latest version of the Chicago Manual of Style (17th ed.) the instructions allow you to use "short form" footnotes when notes are repeated (See explanation and examples).  However, Endnote defaults do not reflect this practice.  You may update the Endnote style so that the notes format properly when you are citing in Microsoft Word. 

See instructions (courtesy of Notre Dame).

How do I number endnotes with Arabic and not Roman numerals? (Endnote/Word)

Highlight one of the endnotes and right click.  Select "Footnote".  In the resulting dialog box, under "number format" change from "i, ii, iii" to "1, 2,3"

How do I create a list of endnotes and not a bibliography? (Endnote/Word)

Although this is a non-standard application of Chicago Manual of Style, some editors may request this variation.

To create endnotes, click the "References" tab in Word and "insert endnote", then click the "Endnote Tab" and "insert citation".  Then highlight the citation you want in the Endnote library.

This will create a bibliography before the endnotes.  You can position the endnotes before the bibliography (and later delete the bibliography) as follows:

  1. From the Insert menu, choose References and then select Footnote.
  2. In the resulting Footnote and Endnote dialog box, click the Endnotes option.
  3. Choose End of Section from the Endnotes dropdown list.
  4. Click Apply.