Select Books
American Judaism: A History by Publication Date: 2004
American post-Judaism : identity and renewal in a postethnic society by Publication Date: 2013
Imagining Jewish authenticity : vision and text in American Jewish thought by Publication Date: 2015
Jews and baseball by Publication Date: 2007-
Kugel and frijoles: Latino Jews in the United States by Publication Date: 2019
Sephardi and Mizrahi Jews in America : the Jewish role in American life. by Publication Date: 2016- World of Our Fathers byPublication Date: 1976
Jews and Blacks
Blacks and Jews: alliances and arguments by Publication Date: 1994
Jewish roots in Southern soil by Publication Date: 2006
Color of love: a story of a mixed race Jewish girl by Publication Date: 2019
Outskirts of hope by Publication Date: 2015
Race, color, identity : rethinking discourses about 'Jews' in the twenty-first century by Publication Date: 2013
Strangers in the land: Blacks, Jews, Post-Holocaust America by Publication Date: 2005
Databases
- Index to Jewish Periodicals WITH Jewish Studies Source (EbscoHOST) This link opens in a new windowJewish periodicals include "articles and book reviews on Jewish history, activity and thought in more than 220 journals devoted to Jewish affairs." Jewish Source provides a "multidisciplinary view into the study of Jewish civilization from its historical origins to the present."
Select E-Journals
- Jewish Culture and History "An inter-disciplinary journal which brings together the best of current research in Jewish social history with innovative work in Jewish cultural studies." Includes American and international perspectives.Publication Date: 1998-
- Jewish Currents "Founded in 1946, Jewish Currents is a magazine committed to the rich tradition of thought, activism, and culture of the Jewish left." Includes American and international perspectives.Publication Date: 2012-
- Moment "Moment is a fiercely independent magazine that provides North American Jews with award-winning, in-depth reporting."Publication Date: 1994-
Select Documentaries
- Blacks and JewsPublication Date: 1997
- Delta JewsPublication Date: 2000
- Land of promise: the Jews of South CarolinaPublication Date: 2003
American Jewish History Websites
- Arnold and Deanne Kaplan Collection of Early American Judaica "Donated to the University of Pennsylvania Libraries in 2012 by the Kaplans, and growing each year, teaches us about the everyday lives, families, businesses, communal institutions, religious organizations, voluntary associations, and political circumstances of Jewish life throughout the western hemisphere over four centuries. It provides a unique window into the changing character of colonial life and culture around the Atlantic world and within the United States. It documents changing perceptions and experiences of new worlds of space and time, not only from the perspective of its Jewish colonists and citizens but also in the context of the larger societies in which they have lived. The collection, in short, is more than the sum of its parts. It is the constellation of unlimited potential connections among its many pieces from the time of colonial settlement in the sixteenth century into the era of mass migration at the end of the 19th century."
- Digital Second Edition of Judaica Americana Created as a Judaica digital humanities project by the University of Pennsylvania Libraries and expands on Robert Singerman’s two-volume 1990 edition of Judaica Americana to create a searchable bibliography of thousands of American publications of Jewish interest.
- Jewish American History Foundation Since 1998, Jewish-History.com has provided full digital text of primary historical documents previously unavailable to the general public except in historical society archives or on reels of microfilm.
- Jewish History Resource Center: The Dinur Center for Research in Jewish HistoryAmerican-Jewish History-Index
The Catskills Institute Collection
The Catskills Institute, Northeastern's Digital Repository Service
"A century ago, the celebrated Jewish resorts started in the Sullivan and Ulster County Catskills. New Yorkers hungry for mountain air, good food, and the American way of leisure came to the mountains by the thousands, and by the 1950s, more than a million people inhabited the summer world of bungalow colonies, summer camps, and small hotels. The Catskills Institute was created by the organizing committee of the History of the Catskills conference that was held in Woodridge, New York on Labor Day Weekend 1995."
Archives, Museums and Libraries
- American Jewish Committee Archives Filled with more than a million documents and hundreds of movies and radio shows, the New York-based American Jewish Committee Archives house an extraordinary range of resources on the past century of American Jewish history.
- American Jewish Historical Society Established in 1892, the AJHS is the oldest ethnic, cultural archive in the United States. It provides access to more than 30 million documents and 50,000 books, photographs, art and artifacts that reflect the history of the Jewish presence in the United States from 1654 to the present.
- Center for Jewish History Located in New York City, The Center illuminates history, culture, and heritage. It provides a collaborative home for five partner organizations: American Jewish Historical Society, American Sephardi Federation, Leo Baeck Institute, Yeshiva University Museum, and YIVO Institute for Jewish Research. The partners’ archives comprise the world’s largest and most comprehensive archive of the modern Jewish experience outside of Israel.
- Digital Public Library of America "The Digital Public Library of America amplifies the value of libraries and cultural organizations as Americans’ most trusted sources of shared knowledge. We do this by collaborating with partners to accelerate innovative tools and ideas that empower and equip libraries to make information more accessible."
- The Wyner Family Jewish Heritage Center at the New England Genealogical Society The Center is a place for exploring and preserving the histories of Jewish families and institutions in New England and beyond. The JHC engages historians, genealogists, partner organizations, and the general public in the study of Jewish history, culture, and legacies through its extensive archival collections, educational programs, exhibits, and public events. It is the only historical center dedicated to, and specializing in, New England Jewish history.