Library Streaming Music Resources
View a complete list of audio and video (Opens in new window) licensed streaming services at Northeastern.
Scholar OneSearch, the library's catalog and discovery system, includes individual tracks and albums
- [Boston and online view (Opens in new window)]
- [Oakland view (Opens in new window)] (includes scores and recordings at the F. W. Olin Library on Northeastern's Oakland, CA campus]
Streaming music at the Northeastern Libraries
- Academic Video Online (Alexander Street Press) This link opens in a new windowMostly documentary and journalistic videos.
- Digital Theatre+ This link opens in a new windowSome musicals are included in this collection of theater performance videos.
- DRAM (Database of Recorded American Music) This link opens in a new windowDiverse American music, including roots/folk/jazz and more.
- Music Online (Alexander Street Press) This link opens in a new windowThis streaming site has separate collections of contemporary, jazz, classical, and Smithsonian Global Sound
- Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new windowOver 85,000 tracks, emphasizing classical, but also including world music, jazz, folk, and more, available for streaming. Access is limited to 15 users at a time.
- Smithsonian Global Sound This link opens in a new windowin partnership with Smithsonian Folkways Recordings, is a virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions.
Free Web Historical Recordings
- Archives of Traditional Music (Indiana University) (Opens in new window)International in scope, many rare audio and video files
- CHARM (Arts and Humanities Research Council) (Opens in new window)Database of historical classical sound recordings.
- Discography of American Music (UC Santa Barbara) (Opens in new window)Data on recordings from the 78rpm era, with performers, dates, catalog and matrix numbers, and more, from Victor, Decca, Columbia, Zenophone and more. A partnership with the Library of Congress National Jukebox Project makes some pre-1923 recordings available online.
- Free Music Archive (Opens in new window)A major online discography and a library of ex-copyright recordings
