Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Psychology: Home

Suggested resources in psychology.

Key Resources for Psychology

Looking for something not on this list? See Core Resources for Article Searching in Psychology and Behavioral Sciences to learn about: PsycArticles, BrowZine, ERIC, Sage Research Methods, Mental Measurements Yearbook, HAPI (Health and Psychosocial Instruments), Cochrane Library, Web of Science, Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection, Medline, Embase, and Academic Search Complete.

FEATURED RESOURCE: Psychotherapy.net

Psychotherapy.net -- Watch expert psychotherapists demonstrate techniques and comment on their work. Includes 100+ videos. 
Browse this streaming video library:    By Approach  -- By Therapeutic Issue  -- By Expert -- By Population

Selected ebooks

Follow the link; then click on the bolded, blue link to get to full text.

Background information

This resource is recommended for background information.

Do you need more explanation about a topic than is contained in a peer-reviewed article? In the Encyclopedia of Social and Behavioral Sciences you will find a brief (8-10 page) overview of each topic, tracing major developments in the research over time. 

For example:

Search Executive Functioning 

for a definition and brief summary of research on this topic

How to get assistance with your research

If your question isn't specifically addressed on these pages, please send me an email or schedule an appointment. During weekends and evenings, if you need immediate assistance, call the research assistance desk at 617-373-2356; see this page for desk hours and to contact us by text or chat reference.  For in-depth questions and during regular business hours, send me an email.  I am available for research consultations.

Research Tools and Tips

Looking for a specific item for which you know the title? Use these quick search tools:

•  Books

Use the Scholar OneSearch Browse search to find books by title or author.

•  Ejournals

Use the Ejournal finder (search by title, e-only).

Databases

Use the A-Z database list.

APA Handbook of Testing and Assessment in Psychology

NEW RESOURCES

JoVE

The Library now subscribes to all sections of JoVE.* The library's subscription includes these sections: Biology -- Advanced Biology -- Core Statistics -- Cancer Research -- Medicine -- Neuroscience -- Bioengineering -- Immunology and Infection-- and more.

It also includes the JoVE Science Education Database, which consists of: Basic Biology, Advanced Biology, Chemistry, Clinical Skills, Engineering, Environmental Sciences, Psychology, and Physics.

Some of the newest sections are JoVE Lab ManualJoVE Video Textbook, ,JoVE Encyclopedia of Experiments, and Open Educational Resources (textbooks).

QUICK LINKS

For faculty integrating JOVE content into your courses, please see this new guide: JoVE: Using JoVE in your Classroom and Research Lab 

----------------------------------------

*Previously the subscription included only these sections: Biology, Medicine, Neuroscience, Bioengineering, Immunology and Infection, and these parts of JoVE Science Education Database: Basic Biology, Advanced Biology, Chemistry, and Physics. 

Browzine

 

Campus resources

Northeastern University Research Centers and Departments

Counseling & Applied Educational Psychology (Bouve College)

Psychology Department (College of Science)

Human Services Program (College of Social Sciences and Humanities)

Bachelor of Science in Human Services (CSSH)

Bachelor of Science in Psychology (CPS)

Center for Cognitive and Brain Health -- 

Its mission is to "investigate the effects of lifestyle choices and health behaviors (e.g., physical activity, diet)  and their physiological sequelae (e.g., fitness, adiposity) on brain and cognition."

Online Access to DSM 5

DSM-5 TR (text revision) is available online to NU affiliates.  It is part of a package called PsychiatryOnline Premium collection and includes the DSM 5, DSM 5 text revision, handbook of differential diagnosis, DSM-5 Handbook On The Cultural Formulation Interview, clinical case book, practice guidelines from the American Psychiatric Association, and other core texts.  Learn more about the DSM, how it's used, and the most recent revision

NOTE re: previous editions of the DSM

Encyclopedias

FOR A PEEK INSIDE: for example, see this entry on Awe and the Natural Environment or this one on Eating Disorders

Ask a Librarian

Get Help from a Librarian 

Phone, Text, Chat, Email, Visit

Feedback?

About this guide
Email any feedback you have about this guide -- tell us what's working and what's not.

About the collection
Send suggestions for new titles.

About the library
Send us your comments on anything else library-related.

Husky to Husky Peer Education Network

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Kathy Herrlich
(she, her, hers)
Contact:
270 Snell Library
617-373-5305

Psychology News from the APA

Loading ...

Health news from the New York Times

Loading ...

Test

Which of these is most likely to contain a scholarly article in psychology?
PsycArticles: 11 votes (78.57%)
Psychotherapy.net: 2 votes (14.29%)
Kanopy: 0 votes (0%)
International Encyclopedia of Social and Behavioral Sciences: 1 votes (7.14%)
Total Votes: 14
Which of these might help me to locate a magazine article about "how to help my child with autism navigate school"?
Academic Search Complete: 2 votes (20%)
PsycInfo: 5 votes (50%)
JSTOR: 1 votes (10%)
PsycArticles: 2 votes (20%)
Total Votes: 10
Which of these would help me to find the diagnostic criteria for Bipolar II Disorder?
SpringerLink: 0 votes (0%)
PsycInfo: 0 votes (0%)
Medline: 0 votes (0%)
DSM 5: 14 votes (100%)
Total Votes: 14