Other Core Resources for Article Searching in Psychology and Behavioral Sciences
General or multi-disciplinary content
- Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowScholarly, peer-reviewed articles and professional association publications, Abstracts and links to full text, about half are peer reviewed, covering all academic subjects including STEM fields. Include video clips (Opens in new window) from the Associated Press in your search results.
- ScienceDirect Books and Journals (Elsevier) This link opens in a new windowAccess to Elsevier ebooks and select scholarly journals covering biomedical science and medicine, pharmacology, neuroscience, psychology, social sciences and more.
- Web of Science, Core Collection 1975-present This link opens in a new windowUse for citation tracking, finding seminal literature, data visualizations, author alerts, institutional affiliations, and impact factors. LInks to full text for Northeastern-subscribed journals.
- ERIC (Proquest) This link opens in a new windowCitations to education information, including scholarly articles, professional literature, education dissertations, and books, plus grey literature such as curriculum guides, conference proceedings, government publications, and white papers. Links to full text. 1966 to the present.
- Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowA select collection of full-text articles in psychology from chiefly peer-reviewed journals.
Health Sciences
Note: These databases search of the some psychology literature but it is not the primacy focus. if you use PubMed, you do not need to also search Medline through EBSCOhost.
- PubMed (NU customized) This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive source of journal literature in the life sciences and biomedicine from the National Library of Medicine. Includes selected full text from PubMed Central, and NCBI Bookshelf. PubMed is a free web resource, however this version contains links to Northeastern-subscribed journals that require a login.
- MEDLINE (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowMedline is the U.S. National Library of Medicine's flagship database of articles in medicine, with coverage of the most authoritative peer-reviewed biomedical and health sciences research journals. Links to full text.
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new windowhigh-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Cochrane and other systematic reviews, clinical trials, and more.
- Embase (Elsevier) This link opens in a new windowinternational biomedical literature from 1947 to the present day. Structured and natural language searching.
Specialty
- PTSDPubs This link opens in a new windowPTSDpubs helps you find information about post-traumatic stress, related effects of trauma, and mental health sequelae. It is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs.
- What this includes articles from journals, books, pamphlets, dissertations, and technical reports. 1871 to present.
- AgeLine (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowAgeLine focuses on those aged 50+ and the literature of social gerontology. Covers aging-related content from the health sciences, psychology, sociology, social work, economics, and public policy.
- What this includes: over 600 journals, books, book chapters, reports, dissertations, consumer guides, and educational videos..
JoVE - the Journal of Visualized Experiments
- JoVE: Journal of Visualized Experiments This link opens in a new windowJournals, but formatted with video, combining high-quality video demonstrations of experiments with detailed text protocols. All content is peer-reviewed and indexed in biomedical databases. Northeastern University has access to all JoVE Video Journals and Science Education subjects.
The Library subscribes to all sections of JoVE including Behavior and Neuroscience in the Research section, also find psychology in the Education section.
For faculty integrating JOVE content into your courses, please see:
Video of real and simulated counseling sessions
- Psychotherapy.net This link opens in a new window100+ videos for teaching, training, self-study and continuing education in psychotherapy, counseling and addiction treatment.
- Counseling and Therapy in Video (Alexander Street) This link opens in a new windowCounseling and Therapy in Video provides video to help train students in counseling, social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling.
Interlibrary Loan
Need an article? 
(Opens in new window) Request articles that are not available at Northeastern through ILLiad (Opens in new window), the library's interlibrary loan service.
- ILLiadOne-time registration is required to request articles not available at NU Libraries.
- Boston Library Consortium and Other Area LibrariesWe participate in a variety of partnerships with other libraries that borrow and lend to each other.