Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Behavioral Neuroscience: Home

Guide to resources in behavioral neuroscience at Northeastern University.

Workshops

Registration for the Spring Citation Management Webinar series has concluded. See the training page for recordings of past webinars, or contact a librarian for help.

 

Key Resources

For more suggestions, see More Core Resources in Behavioral Neuroscience. You can also contact me with your topic and what you are working on. I'll be happy to give more tailored advice (by email, or in a zoom meeting) and explain the differences between these databases, I love learning about the projects, assignments, and interests of the students and faculty at Northeastern.

Quick links

Book search - Use Scholar OneSearch browse feature to find books by title or author

Ejournal finder - List of all ejournals at Northeastern

Databases and trials - complete A-Z list of databases

Off campus access - Logging in

Journals - New England Journal of MedicineJAMA, ScienceNature

More journals in behavioral neuroscience

Featured resources

JoVe --the Journal of Visualized Experiments, the world's first peer reviewed scientific video journal. Includes JoVE Neuroscience --a multidisciplinary section devoted to investigations of the structure, function, physiology, and pathophysiology of the brain and nervous system. 

The Library subscribes to ALL sections of JoVE, including these which may be of interest for behavioral neuroscience:  BiologyNeuroscienceBioengineeringImmunology and Infection, and the JoVE Science Education Database (Basic Biology, Advanced Biology, Chemistry, Psychology, and more). Essentials of Neuroscience is part of the Advanced Biology section.

Best Bets for Literature Searching

 Tackling a new topic?

Try looking for a review article first.  Review articles attempt to summarize the state of research on a scientific topic.  While lengthy, and not generally including the very latest research, review articles are a great way to start to get a handle on a topic.  

Don't overlook the literature cited at the end of the review - the bibliography contains a wealth of information about the key discoveries and main researchers in the field.  

Most databases (including PubMed and Web of Science below) will allow you to limit your search to include only review articles.  


 Not sure where to start?  

PubMed 

Like PsycInfo (and PubMed's equivalent, Medline), PubMed indexes the major research journals in behavioral neuroscience. PubMed allows access to nearly 2 million full-text journal articles.

 

Web of Science 

Web of Science indexes over 11,000 scholarly journals in the sciences (1975 -present).  Web of Science's strength is in its interdisciplinary focus and its ability to perform citation searching.  Also works seamlessly with EndNote & EndNote Web citation management software.


 Need help?

We're happy to meet for consultations!  Find the "schedule appointment" link by my profile.

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Kathy Herrlich
(she, her, hers)
Contact:
270 Snell Library
617-373-5305

Browzine

Recommended: Try Browzine to browse, read, and stay current with journals.

BrowZine Web Edition allows for desktop browsing of the popular web app, BrowZine, that allows you to browse, read, and monitor many of the library’s scholarly journals in a format optimized for your iOS or Android device.

Link for mobile devices

Customized Lists of Library Services