Getting started: Finding Relevant Sources in Environmental Science
Tackling a new topic?
Try looking for a review article first. Review articles attempt to summarize the state of research on a scientific topic. While lengthy & not generally including the very latest research, review articles can be a great way to start to get a handle on a topic.
Don't overlook the literature cited at the end of the review - the bibliography contains a wealth of information about the key discoveries & main researchers in the field.
Most databases will allow you to limit your search to include only review articles or literature reviews. You could also try searching through a reference work like an encyclopedia for introductory information to a new topic.
For other introductory information, try these databases:- Annual Reviews This link opens in a new windowScholarly overviews in 37 academic subjects, mostly biomedical sciences, physical sciences, and social sciences. Excellent for finding authoritative overviews of new topics.
- Gale in Context: Environmental Studies This link opens in a new windowCourtesy of the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners and the Massachusetts Library System.The resource offers nearly 400 topic, state, and province pages across the science, social studies, and humanities curriculum, including Water Privatization, Ecotourism, Air Pollution, Green Economy, and more.
- E&E News (Politico Pro) This link opens in a new windowUp-to-date news on energy and the environment. Includes EnergyWire, ClimateWire, GreenWire, E&E Daily, and E&E News.
Getting Started: Finding Primary Research
For articles describing primary research using scientific methods, written by experts in the field or scientists, try these databases to start:
- GreenFILE (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowDrawing on the connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology, GreenFILE is an informative resource containing nearly 300,000 records, with full text for selected titles, and searchable cited references with library links for more than 200 additional titles
- Web of Science, All Databases This link opens in a new windowUse this link for access to citation tracking and subject searching of scholarly literature. Data visualizations, alerts, and journal impact factors. Includes the Web of Science Core Collection. One of the largest curated databases of scholarly research, with citations in some subjects from 1900 to the present.