See also: Help using SciFinder
Area Libraries/ILLDissertationsFaculty in News@NortheasternFinding the Impact Factor of a JournalHow to Write a Paper to Communicate Your ResearchPatent searchingProfessional associationsProperty dataSearch tipsStreaming Video and DVDStudent Research at NortheasternTextbooksNature titles
See also: What is the h-index?
This is the "Home" page of the "Chemistry" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Chemistry   Tags: h index  

A guide to online and print resources in chemistry.
Last Updated: Sep 10, 2014 URL: http://subjectguides.lib.neu.edu/chemistry Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Reference Source

Cover Art
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics, 95th edition - William M. Haynes (Editor)
Publication Date: 2013
A vast almanac of facts, tables, and statistics about mathematics and the physical world. It is one of the most used handbooks in the sciences.

 

Ebook

Cover Art
Burger's Medicinal Chemistry, Drug Discovery and Development
ISBN: 9780471266945
ebook (current NU only)--online version of the 7th Edition of the major reference work, covering medicinal chemistry and drug discovery for new, as well as experienced, medicinal chemists, biologists, pharmacologists, and molecular biologists.

 

Citing Your Sources

 

Selected Books at Snell Library

Cover Art
RNA 3D Structure Analysis and Prediction - Neocles Leontis (Editor); Eric Westhof (Editor)
Publication Date: 2012
With the dramatic increase in RNA 3D structure determination in recent years, we now know that RNA molecules are highly structured. Moreover, knowledge of RNA 3D structures has proven crucial for understanding in atomic detail how they carry out their biological functions. Because of the huge number of potentially important RNA molecules in biology, many more than can be studied experimentally, we need theoretical approaches for predicting 3D structures on the basis of sequences alone.  This volume provides a comprehensive overview of current progress in the field by leading practitioners employing a variety of methods to model RNA 3D structures by homology, by fragment assembly, and by de novo energy and knowledge-based approaches.


Cover Art
Chemistry of opioids (ebook)
Publication Date: 2011

 

Organic chemistry news

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

Key Resources

·      SciFinder - provides searching of Chemical Abstracts, 1907 – present.  Simultaneously searches Medline.  Important for a comprehensive literature search.  You must register in order to use SciFinder.

·      American Chemical Society Journals  -- includes 39 high quality, full-text academic journals from the American Chemical Society. Also includes the journals’ archives, with content back to 1936 (and much earlier for some titles).

·      Burger's Medicinal Chemistry, Drug Discovery and Development  - an excellent, scholarly encyclopedia, offering the background and explanations not usually found in original research articles.  Comprehensive coverage of traditional areas and recent developments.

·      Nature Journals Online  - the journal Nature is the most highly cited interdisciplinary science journal according to ISI's journal citation reports.  The library's collection of Nature titles now includes a long-awaited acquisition, Nature Chemistry!  See a list of Nature titles in our subscription.

·      Royal Society of Chemistry Journals – collection of full-text academic, high impact journals from the Royal Society of Chemistry.

See also: more chemistry resources for use at Northeastern 

 

Research Tools and Tips

Looking for a book or other specific item for which you know the title?  Use these quick search tools:

•   Use the Scholar OneSearch Browse search to find books by title or author, or to search any journal by title.

•   Ejournal finder (search by title, e-only)

•   A-Z database list

To do a comprehensive literature search in chemistry, start by searching SciFinder or Web of Science. To do a quick search or to find a few good articles, begin by searching or browsing the full text collection of American Chemical Society Journals.

To get help:  during weekends and evenings, for immediate assistance, call the research assistance desk at 617-373-2356, come to the desk in person, or use chat reference to contact a librarian.  For in-depth questions and during regular business hours, contact me by phone or email to set up a research consultation.

 

Chemistry news from ScienceDaily

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

Feedback?

About This Guide
Email me any feedback you have about this guide -- tell me what's working and what's not.

About the Collection
Send me suggestions for new titles in this subject area.

About the Library
Use the library's Suggestion Box to send us your comments on anything else library-related.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Kathy Herrlich
Contact Info
617-373-5305
Send Email
Education:
BA History, University of Vermont; MLIS Simmons College
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip