Skip to main content

We are still offering consultation services during the COVID-19 move to online instruction. Please feel free to reach out for virtual appointments! For more information on library services and resources, please click here.

Chemistry: SciFinder access and registration

A guide to online and print resources in chemistry.

Accessing SciFinder-n and SciFinder

SciFinder-n

SciFinder-n is the updated version of the popular SciFinder platform. As of April 1, 2020, it is now available for use by Northeastern students, faculty, and staff. Search journal articles from Chemical Abstracts and Medline, the CAS Registry, chemical reactions, predicted and experimental properties, synthetic preparations, and patents.

If you are already a registered user of SciFinder, you can connect to SciFinder-n here with your current SciFinder username and password - no need to create a new one. If you do NOT already have a SciFinder username and password, you can register here using your Northeastern email. PLEASE NOTE: After registering, you will receive an email confirmation of your registration. If you are completing new user registration off campus, please use this proxied link instead of the one you receive in your email confirmation.

SciFinder

SciFinder will be available until July 1, 2020 when Northeastern will fully transition to the new SciFinder-n platform. 

Why do I need to register if I have access through Northeastern?

You will need to create an account (see New User Registration) and accept the CAS SciFinder Terms of Use in order to use the database:

  • Use is restricted to current faculty, staff and students of Northeastern.

  • I will only use CAS SciFinder for non-commercial, personal, educational, or research use.

  • Commercial use is forbidden.

  • You may not download more than 5,000 records. 

  • I will not share my username and password with any other person.

  • I will search only for myself and not for others or other organizations.

  • I will not use any automated program or script for extracting or downloading CAS data, or any other systematic retrieval of data.

  • I may retain a maximum of 5,000 Records at any given time for personal use or to share within a Project team for the duration of the Project.

  • My organization's Scifinder License and the CAS Information Use Policies apply to my use of SciFinder

  • Click here to view all Terms and Conditions

Finding full text in SciFinder

Can I find full text in SciFinder?

Yes, with some limitations.  For articles and patents in SciFinder, you can link to Northeastern University's full text journal subscriptions, or to a free full-text patents database, when available. (If there is no subscription access through the university, you will see a link to order through ILliad, the interlibrary loan service. Articles and book chapters will be delivered electronically as pdfs; books from other libraries are delivered in print form). 

Where is the full text link for journal articles in SciFinder?

Look for the link to OTHER SOURCES in the SciFinder list of results or in the full item description.

Feedback?

Need research assistance? Please contact me.

Need technical help? Report a problem here.

New user registration

New user registration for SciFinder or SciFinder-n (first-time users)

If you are already a registered user of SciFinder, you do NOT need to register for SciFinder-n. You can connect to SciFinder-n here with your current SciFinder username and password - no need to create a new one! 

If you do NOT already have a SciFinder username and password, you can register here using your Northeastern email. 

PLEASE NOTE: After registering, you will receive an email confirmation of your registration. If you are completing new user registration off campus, please use this proxied link instead of the one you receive in your email confirmation to complete your registration.

Getting Started with SciFinder-n

Looking for Help with SciFinder, not SciFinder-n?

See How To Guides for instructions on how to search by chemical substance, exact structure, author name, reaction, research topic, and more; and how to refine and analyze your answer sets.

Need research assistance? Please contact me.

Technical Support and Troubleshooting

Browsers and Software configuration

Need technical help? Report a problem here.

Supported browsers and other system settings
(Note: avoid Google Chrome!)

Having trouble logging in? Try the following:

  • Please clear the cache/cookies   In Chrome– select the History tab – Choose Show Full History – Select Clear browsing data. In the pop-up window, select these: Browsing History, Download History, Cached Images and Files, Cookies and other site data. Then click on Clear Browsing Data. Close your browser and open a new one. Then try again to access SciFinder.
  • Are you using a bookmark to access SciFinder on the Web? Sometimes when the bookmark is set, it has includes unnecessary information that causes a problem. If you are using a bookmark, please right-click on the bookmark and select Properties. Then verify that the URL field only consists of https://scifinder.cas.org and not additional characters.
  • Verify that scifinder.cas.org has been added to your trusted sites.  Select the tools tab – internet options – security tab – highlight trusted sites – click sites – enter scifinder.cas.org (also make sure that the checkbox for ‘Require server verification…” is not checked and then select ‘Add’ – close – ok – close the browser and open a new one.

If you receive a message that you are unable to login at this time, please try again a few minutes later.

Documentation, Training and Support

Extensive support and training materials are available on the CAS Support Web Site.