Key Resources
Need articles?
Begin your search with these databases:
- Engineering Village This link opens in a new windowCombines the citations and full text links of Compendex and Inspec with full text books from Knovel, for a more comprehensive search on computer science and engineering topics.
- Web of Science, Core Collection 1975-present This link opens in a new windowUse for citation tracking, finding seminal literature, data visualizations, author alerts, institutional affiliations, and impact factors. LInks to full text for Northeastern-subscribed journals.
- Scite.ai This link opens in a new windowAn AI-powered research platform that analyzes and provides citation context for scientific papers, helping researchers evaluate the credibility and impact of scholarly articles. Account registration is necessary for some features.
Need a book/e-book, reference material, video, periodical, or other type of material?
Start with Scholar OneSearch -- One-stop searching for books, e-books, videos, articles, digital media and more. Search local Northeastern collections and global resources - many items available full text online.
- Knovel Library This link opens in a new windowE-books, handbooks, scientific and engineering reference manuals, and datasets.
- ScienceDirect Topics (Elsevier) This link opens in a new windowUse these topic pages to get up to speed with an area of research that’s new to you. Search your topic and get foundational and reference materials including scientific dictionary and encyclopedia articles, journal review articles, books and book chapters, and handbooks.
- Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology This link opens in a new windowA wide scope of articles on chemical substancesincluding their properties, manufacturing, and uses. It also focuses on industrial processes and unit operations in chemical engineering, and scientific subjects related to the field.
Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook, 9th Edition by Call Number: TP151 .P45 2019ISBN: 9780071834087Publication Date: 2018-08-29Up-to-Date Coverage of All Chemical Engineering Topics from the Fundamentals to the State of the Art. Now in its 85th Anniversary Edition, this industry-standard resource has equipped generations of engineers and chemists with vital information, data, and insights. Thoroughly revised to reflect the latest technological advances and processes, Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook, Ninth Edition, provides unsurpassed coverage of every aspect of chemical engineering. You will get comprehensive details on chemical processes, reactor modeling, biological processes, biochemical and membrane separation, process and chemical plant safety, and much more.
- Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial ChemistryProvides the most current and trustworthy knowledge in everything that relates to the chemical industry, including processes, chemicals, products, analytical chemistry, pharmaceuticals, biotechnology and much more.
Need information about chemical substances?
- SciFinder-n (CAS) This link opens in a new windowSciFinder-n provides access to the worlds most comprehensive and reliable collection of scientific research information, including millions of records and up-to-date patent and chemical information curated and aggregated by a global network of expert scientists. Links to patents and Northeastern-subscribed materials.
- Cambridge Structural Database This link opens in a new windowThe Cambridge Structural Database is the world’s repository of experimentally determined organic and metal-organic crystal structures.
- Inorganic Crystal Structure Database ICSD This link opens in a new windowComprehensive database on fully determined inorganic crystal structures. It is produced by FIZ Karlsruhe and currently contains more than 250,000 crystal structures. Bibliographical information on the structure for further research is also provided. Physical and chemical properties are searchable.
- Reaxys (Elsevier) This link opens in a new windowReaxys is a chemistry database that provides information about chemical structures, reactions, and properties. It also lists journal articles, patents, and other publications related to them, as well as substance property and reaction data, synthesis options and experimental procedures.
Looking for Technical Reports?
- Technical Reports Archive & Image Library (TRAIL)The Technical Report Archive & Image Library (TRAIL) identifies, acquires, catalogs, digitizes and provides unrestricted access to U.S. government agency technical reports.
You can also browse TRAIL's collections by series using these TRAIL guides.
Need a quick refresh on your research skills?
The library has many more research tutorials on common research questions and skills. To see what else is available, visit the library's Research Tutorials page.
Need some help coping?
- Find @ Northeastern-- 24/7 mental health support for full-time students
- Crisis Text Line
- Veterans Crisis Line
- Student Mental Health Guide--Boston Campus
- Faculty Guide -- Supporting Student Mental Health
- Staff Guide--Supporting Student Mental Health
Full list of coping resources, including guides for the global university system.
Interlibrary Loan
- ILLiad log-in (Opens in new window)Need a book, book chapter, or article not available at Northeastern? Current US-based Northeastern faculty, staff, and students can request materials that aren't available at the Northeastern University Library through ILLiad, our interlibrary loan software.