Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Need a book/e-book, video, periodical, or other type of material available at Northeastern libraries?
Start with Scholar OneSearch -- One-stop searching for books, e-books, videos, articles, digital media and more. Search local Northeastern collections and global resources - many items available full text online.
Begin your search with these databases:
- Engineering Village (Includes Compendex and Inspec) - a comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database. Contains over 43 million records, including journals, conferences and trade publications
- Knovel - primarily e-books, especially handbooks and scientific and engineering reference manuals and data. For certain properties there are specific chemical equations and digital graphs. Analyze data, sort, filter, and export from 'live tables', resolve equations and plot graphs, capture values from existing graphs and perform 'What If' experiments.
- American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE) Research Library - A comprehensive tool for locating articles of interest across in civil engineering. Access full-text papers from ASCE Journals and Proceedings. Approximately 4,000 new papers added each year. Search the whole library, Journals, ebooks, standards or proceedings only. Includes ASCE Collections on Special Topics.
- GreenFILE (EBSCOhost) - Drawing on the connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology, GreenFILE is an informative resource for anyone concerned about our planet. The database contains nearly 300,000 records, full text for selected titles, and also searchable cited references for more than 200 titles. Note: Not affiliated with NU? Choose the open access version of GreenFILE
- TRID - an integrated database that combines the records from TRB’s Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD’s Joint Transport Research Centre’s International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database. TRID provides access to more than 1.25 million records of transportation research worldwide.
- ScienceDirect - Science Direct is the web site for selected journal titles from the scholarly publisher Elsevier and its affiliates. Learn how to download articles directly to your mobile device.
- Web of Science - indexes over 11,000 scholarly journals in the sciences (1975-present). Web of Science's strength is in its interdisciplinary focus and its ability to perform citation searching.
Anti-Racism in Engineering
This list of resources and organizations is intended to support the College of Engineering's work to support diversity, inclusion, equity and justice in our communities and practices. The list is not comprehensive, and the resources inevitably reflect the biases of the various creators. They are intended to provide a starting point to explore the wide variety of resources within the Engineering and STEM communities. This page will be continuously updated and feedback is welcome! If you're looking for more resources or for something different, please reach out to Jodi Bolognese at firstname.lastname@example.org.
For more anti-racism resources in Engineering, please check out the full Diversity and Anti-racism in Engineering page.
For more anti-racism resources in STEM, please check out our Diversity and Anti-Racism in STEM page.
For more anti-racism resources and ways to get involved at Northeastern and beyond, please check out our Anti-Racism guide.
10 simple rules for building an antiracist lab
An article written by Dr. V. Bala Chaudhary and Dr. Asmeret Asefaw Berhe published in PLoS Computational Biology in October 2020.
ASEE: Shared Community Resources on Anti-Racisom
American Society of Engineering Educators (ASEE) convened a group of panelists, from K-12 to higher education, to discuss and share resources that can help engineering educators tackle racism in their classrooms and institutions.
Black in Engineering
Black in Engineering was founded in 2020 and is focused on convening the Black engineering community in social justice efforts. This site includes a call to action that lays out principles and recommendations for creating an anti-racist university culture, a 'Black Engineering Faculty Speak' video, and an extensive list of resources for further exploration into social justice work and perspectives.
Engineering Change Podcast
Engineering Change is a podcast designed to help redefine the engineering education experience as we know it by re-imaging who we see as engineers and what we see as engineering, de-siloing academic programs and problem solving, and fine-tuning academic culture and climate using best practices for diversity, equity, and inclusion so people from all backgrounds can succeed. Hosted by engineering educator of color Dr. Yvette E. Pearson.
Engineering and Social Justice by
Utilizing techniques from radical pedagogies of liberation and other movements for social justice, this book presents a roadmap for engineers to become empowered and engage one another in a process of learning and action for social justice and peace.
Need a quick refresh on your research skills?
The library has many more research tutorials on common research questions and skills. To see what else is available, visit the library's Research Tutorials page.
Looking for Technical Reports?