Skip to main content

Nursing: Home

A guide to online and print resources in nursing.

E-books @ Snell

Key Resources in this Guide

Articles in journals:  search CINAHL Complete, the most comprehensive database for articles covering all aspects of nursing, including articles written by nurses.
Looking for a specific journal?  search the E-journal Finder
Books & print journals: search in Scholar OneSearch, limiting your search to "Library Catalog"
Encyclopedia articles: search Encyclopedia of Nursing Research


Tip of the Month

New Resource! Introducing -- access 100+ high quality training videos in psychotherapy.  Watch master psychotherapists in action and hear leading experts discuss their thoughts behind their interventions.
Browse videos by:

  • Approach
  • Therapeutic issue
  • Expert
  • Population
    Transcripts are available for many videos, and are searchable and downloadable; subtitles are available for many videos; many videos come with downloadable instructor's manuals.
    NOTE: videos can be viewed on personal computers (Windows or Mac). Videos can be viewed on IPADs but the functionality of the video platform are not all fully supported. Videos cannot be viewed on non-OS mobile devices. The quality of the video is dependent on the speed of your Internet connection.

Key Databases

DSM-5 Online

   The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders 5 (DSM-5) is the handbook used by health care professionals in the United States and much of the world as the authoritative guide to the diagnosis of mental disorders. DSM contains descriptions, symptoms, and other criteria for diagnosing mental disorders.  The DSM-5 is part of the recently purchased package called PsychiatryOnline Premium.  Connect to DSM-5
View the PsychiatryOnline Tutorial  to learn more about searching across psychiatric journals, ebooks, practice guidelines and more.

Featured Resources

 Mobile versions available for AccessMedicine & AccessPharmacy. 

More Featured Resources

Anatomy TV Primal Picturesmultimedia suite of interactive modules featuring 3D anatomical models of the human body. Modules include systemic and regional anatomy, sports and therapy, surgery and specialty titles including Speech language pathology and more.

Counseling and Therapy in Video  provides video for the study of counseling, social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling.  Users can create, edit and share playlists or clips.

Encyclopedia of Global Health covers all aspects of global health, including physical/mental health. Includes public policy topics, biographies, profiles of medical institutions, organizations and corporations.

Your Librarian

Sandy Dunphy
270 Snell Library

Need Help Using Library Resources?

I am available for consultation. 
  Email me at
  Phone me at 617-373-5322

   Additional ways to get help