Welcome

This page provides links to library services and resources for neonatal nursing research.

Neonatal Nursing Resources: find articles, journals, drug information, e-books and organizations

Looking for articles but not sure where to start? For articles describing primary research, written by experts in the field, try the nursing and medical databases listed below.
The brief videos below will help you develop your research question, choose keywords and offer tips for improving your search results!

A selected list of Snell Library journals in neonatology

Major Drug Databases

         >> Video tutorials for Facts & Comparisons

To search for e-books, use the Library Catalogs option in Scholar OneSearch. On your search results screen, choose E-books under "material type" to retrieve only e-books.
For information about our e-book collections, please visit our page on E-books and E-book Collections. Information on E-book devices is also available. E-book collections with nursing content include: Books@Ovid, ANA Nursing Standards, ClinicalKey, AccessMedicine, AccessPharmacy, STAT!Ref, ProQuest E-book Central.

General Neonatal Care

Neonatal Pathophysiology

Infectious Diseases

Pharmacology

Standards of Care

Critical Care

Maternal/Fetal Medicine

1.  Search nursing and health-related databases to find peer reviewed or scholarly articles on your topic.

2.  Choose keywords for your topic.

3.  Learn the shortcuts: use advanced search techniques to search databases more effectively and find the full text.

4.  Interlibrary Loan: Use ILLIad, our interlibrary loan service to request articles not owned by Snell Library. HINT:  click on the PDF link or the   "Check NU LIbrary" in your database search results. If the article is not available, you will be prompted to link to ILLiad to submit your request.

5.   Organize your citations using citation management tools such as RefWorks, EndNote, Mendeley or Zotero. Import your citations from your
      database search, then autoformat them into your preferred citation style, and insert the reference list into your paper.

6.   Email me: s.dunphy@northeastern.edu
 

If We Don't Have Access to an Article You Need...

Request articles or books not available at NU through ILLiad, our interlibrary loan service. Articles are delivered electronically.

Citation Management Software

Learn how a citation management tool can make your research life easier.

 

What is a citation manager?

A citation manager is a piece of software that helps you collect and organize your research and create bibliographies and in-text citations. Citation managers generally offer a range of citation styles and features to choose from.

Which citation managers does the library support?

The Northeastern library supports EndNote, Mendeley, RefWorks and Zotero. We also support the use of BibTeX and LaTeX.

Which citation manager should I use?

While citation managers generally have the same basic functions, each one offers some specific features.

Our citation manager comparison chart (below) can help you identify the features that will work best for you. See also our tutorial on choosing a citation manager.

How Do I Develop a Research Question?

How Do I Choose Keywords for my Search?

Choosing your keywords carefully will speed up the research process.

How Do I Find Peer Reviewed Articles?

Is this Article Peer Reviewed?

5 Ways to Improve Your Search Results