Welcome
The purpose of this page is to pull together Library resources–databases, ebooks, tutorials–and external websites which are relevant to students in nurse practitioner programs.
Clinical Resources
The following resources are an abbreviated list. Looking for more information on diagnosis, drug information, physical examination, as well as clinical guidelines? Review a more exhaustive list of our clinical resources.
- ClinicalKey (Elsevier) This link opens in a new windowClinical overviews, e-books, drug classification overviews and patient education and guidelines.
- UpToDate LexiDrug (Wolters Kluwer) This link opens in a new windowLexidrug provides concise, point-of-care drug information, including dosing, administration, warnings and precautions, as well as clinical content, such as clinical practice guidelines, IV (intravenous) compatibility from Trissel's 2 Clinical Pharmaceutics Database, and other tools.
- AccessMedicine (McGraw Hill Medical) This link opens in a new windowFrom the basics to specialty-specific content,with more than 50 medical books, including manuals and handbooks which can be downloaded to a mobile device. Some resources such as flash cards may require an individual McGraw Access account. Please register here then return to this page and use the above link for access.
- What this includes: Textbooks, self-assessments, practice guidelines, videos, a drug database, patient cases.
- AccessPharmacy (McGraw Hill Medical) This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive online reference with materials for pharmaceutical education, from McGraw-Hill. Some resources such as flash cards may require an individual McGraw Access account. Please register here then return to this page and use the above link for access.
- What this includes: Textbooks, cases, study guides, herb supplement and drug references
- AccessPhysiotherapy Including F.A. Davis Physical Therapy Collection ( (McGraw Hill Medical) This link opens in a new windowSources on physical therapy, rehabilitation and sports medicine. Features learning tools and physical therapy textbooks, patient cases, videos, and PTE and NTPE review prep. Some resources such as flash cards may require an individual McGraw Access account. Please register here then return to this page and use the above link for access.
- AccessAnesthesiology (McGraw Hill Medical) This link opens in a new windowAccessAnesthesiology covers the entire spectrum of anesthesiology from the basics to specialty-specific content. Some resources such as flash cards may require an individual McGraw Access account. Please register here then return to this page and use the above link for access.
- What this includes: Textbooks, cases, self-assessments, practice guidelines, and a drug database.
UpToDate
Northeastern University Library provides access to UpToDate, the preeminent point-of-care tool. UpToDate is an evidence-based expert-authored resource which addresses specific clinical issues in the form of topic reviews. Topic reviews are written by physician experts who review and synthesize the existing literature into specific recommendations for diagnosis, management, and therapy.
Access to UpToDate requires registration with a Northeastern email address, as well as accessing via the links on the Library’s website, such as the A-Z Database list.
Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination
Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination(Opens in new window) offers more than 8 hours of video content providing head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques. Includes OSCE Clinical Skills interactive videos which allow viewers to observe and participate in the clinical encounter.
Exam Prep
Nurse Practitioner Certification Exam Prep by
Start preparing for your future...today! Develop the test-taking skills you need to prepare for your certification examination and build the knowledge base you need to successfully enter practice. Begin with high-yield content reviews of must-know disorders; then quiz yourself with questions reflecting those found on the ANCC and AANP certification examinations. More than 2,500 questions with detailed rationales for both correct and incorrect responses to help you hone your diagnostic and treatment reasoning skills. Looking for more NP certification resources? Boost your chances for success with Family Practice and Adult-Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioner Certification Examination. Purchase both books together for a discounted price. A must have for FNP study!! "My most valuable asset for FNP study! I used this throughout my FNP program and highly recommend it! Fitzgerald uses easy to learn concepts and helps you to remember key concepts necessary to practice! Passed my AANP on my first attempt!"--Brandee, Online Reviewer This book is amazing. Not only did it help me pass my... "certification on the first try, but has also become my trustworthy resource in practice."--Rob, Online Reviewer Great material not just to review for certification boards "Great material not just to review for certification boards, but also FNP students looking for short summaries of key information." --James D., Online Reviewer
ISBN: 9780803677128Publication Date: 2020-12-04
Family Practice and Adult-Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioner Certification Examination by
Assess your progress. Test knowledge. Master core content areas. Over 3,300 Practice Questions The questions in the book and online at Davis Edge (over 3,300 questions in all) parallel the domain and content areas of the Adult-Gero and Family Nurse Practitioner exams, with answers and in-depth rationales that advance your mastery and understanding. Purchase a new copy of Family Practice and Adult-Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioner Certification Examination, 6th Edition and receive FREE, 6-month access to Davis Edge, the online Q&A program that creates quizzes based on your personal strengths and weaknesses and tracks your progress every step of the way. No other certification review product offers this much value! Looking for more NP certification resources? Boost your chances for success with Nurse Practitioner Certification Exam Prep. Purchase both books together for a discounted price. "Like every FNP student out there I was searching for a good review book.... well look no further because this book is the best. I got this book after a fellow student suggested it and they weren't wrong about it. The book is filled with review questions on every topic and the answers don't just give you what letter was right but a rationale for why the one answer is correct and why the others are not correct. --Amazon Reviewer "This was an amazing resource for helping pass the ANCC boards. I highly recommend this resource for anyone who wants intensive review before this extremely difficult test." --Amazon Reviewer "Excellent study guide. A must buy for anyone preparing for certification. Thousands of practice questions to get you ready to pass certification."--Amazon Reviewer
ISBN: 9780803697294Publication Date: 2019-10-01
Psychiatric-Mental Health Nurse Practitioner Review and Resource Manual, 4th Edition by
Are you looking into how to advance your professional development through certification? Need a reliable and credible reference resource? No matter where you are in the process, make sure you have the most valuable review and resource tool at your disposal. The Nursing Knowledge Center's Psychiatric-Mental Health None Practitioner Review and Resource Manual is a must-have tool for nurses planning to take the American Nurses Credentialing Center's (ANCC's) Psychiatric-Mental Health Nurse Practitioner certification exam. Based on the official ANCC certification exam test content outline, this review and resource manual will help you: Study and analyze comprehensive-material and concepts Written by nursing experts. Develop a recommended seven-step plan to equip you for the exam and map out what to do on the day of the exam. Prepare for and familiarize yourself with psychological-mental health practitioner standards of practice. And much more ... Make the Psychiatric-Mental Health Nurse Practitioner Review and Resource Manual a key resource in your certification preparation. Book jacket.
ISBN: 9781935213796Publication Date: 2016-03-30
Lippincott Certification Review: Pediatric Acute Care Nurse Practitioner by
Confidently prepare for the Acute Care Certified Pediatric Nurse Practitioner (CPNP®) exam and excel on the job with help from the Lippincott Certification Review: Pediatric Acute Care Nurse Practitioner . Presented in an easy-to-read bulleted format, this all-inclusive guide covers all exam topics, from system-based pediatric disorders to family and psychological issues. Offering professional advice, test-taking strategies, and practice exams, this is the essential text no pediatric or acute care nurse should be without. You will ace the CPNP exam and grasp the fundamentals of acute care pediatric nursing with ... More than 750 multiple-choice questions in exam format - 350+ end-of-chapter questions and two 200-question practice exams, with answers/explanations · Expert guidance on pediatric patient management - Current data and practice tools for diagnosing and managing complex acute, chronic, and critical pediatric conditions in inpatient and outpatient, emergency, and home care settings, emphasizing interdisciplinary collaboration · Full coverage of topics including: · System-based problems - Scientific background and practice guidelines for managing pediatric disorders, with each chapter addressing a different body system · Age-related information - Guidance on meeting the specific physiological and psychological needs of infants, children, adolescents, and young adults · Pediatric patient and family issues - Vital information on development, nutrition, and sleep; guidelines for family-centered care, transitional care, home care, and more · Professional issues - Current data on quality improvement, safety, diversity, and health policy; official guidance on certification, licensure, credentialing, documentation, billing, and more
ISBN: 1496308565Publication Date: 2015-09-19
Fast Facts for the Adult-Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioner by
This quick-access orientation guide--the only one written by experienced acute care nurses--delivers all the information new AG-ACNP practitioners and students need for skilled clinical practice across the adult lifespan. Organized with a clinical system-based approach, this resource puts vital information at your fingertips with succinct, easy-to-read bullet points, diagrams, and formulas. Tables highlight diagnostic criteria and compare/contrast similar disorders and treatments along with commonly used medications, dosages, and infusions. Designed to fit into a pocket for daily use, this book is based on critical care curriculum developed by the author over 25 years, along with the wisdom of experienced nurse contributors. It includes useful tips on medication dosing, ordering diagnostic tests, documentation, and billing, and provides clinical pearls for each body system. This pocket resource will be an invaluable companion for AG-ACNP students in clinical rotation, novice AG-ACNP graduates, and experienced nurses who are working with a new patient population. Key Features: Places vital information at your fingertips for easy information retrieval in a fast-paced environment Organized in a clinical system-based approach Provides quick-access tables, diagrams, and formulas, including risk calculators Streamlines complex information into easily understandable language Compares similar diagnostic criteria for accurate diagnoses in high-acuity settings Includes evidence-based treatments for best practice and patient care
ISBN: 9780826152046Publication Date: 2022-01-07
