Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
We are still offering consultation services during the COVID-19 move to online instruction. Please feel free to reach out for virtual appointments! For more information on library services and resources, please click here.
This guide introduces resources to support your research topics in linguistics. Use the tabs at the top of the page to help you locate background information on your topic, articles, books, and more.
If you need assistance with your research or help using library resources, please contact me, schedule an appointment, or Ask a Librarian.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts: LLBA (Proquest)
Journal articles, book reviews, abstracts of books, book chapters, and dissertations from the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. Covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics.
Ethnologue: Languages of the World
A comprehensive reference work cataloging all of the world’s known living languages. Now includes interactive mapping features.
The World Atlas of Language Structures Online
A large database of structural (phonological, grammatical, lexical) properties of languages gathered from descriptive materials (such as reference grammars). Also includes maps showing world locations of individual language features.
Oxford English Dictionary Online
Oxford English Dictionary
Access the premier dictionary of the English language. See definitions, pronunciations, etymologies, and historical quotations showing the use of the word over time.