Welcome!
This guide introduces resources to support your research topics in linguistics. Use the tabs at the top of the page to help you locate background information on your topic, articles, books, and more.
If you need assistance with your research or help using library resources, please contact me, schedule an appointment, or Ask a Librarian.
Best Bets
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts: LLBA (Proquest) This link opens in a new windowJournal articles, book reviews, abstracts of books, book chapters, and dissertations from the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. Covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics.
- Ethnologue: Languages of the WorldA comprehensive reference work cataloging all of the world’s known living languages. Now includes interactive mapping features.
- The World Atlas of Language Structures OnlineA large database of structural (phonological, grammatical, lexical) properties of languages gathered from descriptive materials (such as reference grammars). Also includes maps showing world locations of individual language features.
Scholar OneSearch
Oxford English Dictionary Online
- Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new windowAccess the premier dictionary of the English language. See definitions, pronunciations, etymologies, and historical quotations showing the use of the word over time.
Digital Archive
- Digital Archive of Indigenous Language PersistenceNortheastern's DAILP is a community-based digital archive created to support indigenous peoples’ knowledge, interpretations, and representations of the past.