Welcome
This guide introduces resources to support your research topics in American Sign Language (ASL). Use the tabs at the left of the page to locate background information on your topic, articles, books, and more.
If you need assistance with your research or help using library resources, please contact me, schedule an appointment, or Ask a Librarian.
Key Databases
Language / Linguistics Databases
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts: LLBA (Proquest) This link opens in a new windowScholarly articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers from the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences.
Interdisciplinary, Humanities, and Social Sciences Databases
- Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowA multidisciplinary database useful for researching a broad range of topics. Includes newspaper, magazine, and academic peer-reviewed articles.
- Web of Science, All Databases This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary database with citation information from high impact research journals.
- Social Sciences Premium Collection (Proquest) This link opens in a new windowScholarly and professional citations and abstracts with full text links in politics and public policy, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology, linguistics, information sciences and education. Professional society databases included.
- Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowScholarly articles, book reviews, and more from the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Education Databases
- ERIC (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowContains scholarly research articles, dissertations, professional literature, and grey literature (curriculum guides, conference proceedings, government publications, etc.) related to education.
- Education Research Ultimate (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowContains scholarly research articles related to education, from early childhood to higher education.
Architecture, Art, and Media Databases
- Art, Design, and Architecture Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowScholarly and trade articles, books, and conference proceedings in the fields of visual and applied arts.
- Communications & Mass Media Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowScholarly articles covering communication, mass media, linguistics, rhetoric, language, logic, and other closely related fields.
Health and Medical Databases
- PsycInfo (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowIncludes articles, journals, books, and more for psychology and related disciplines. Published by the American Psychological Association.
- ComDisDome This link opens in a new windowScholarly articles on speech language pathology, audiology, and communication.
- PubMed Central This link opens in a new windowIncludes citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
- CINAHL Ultimate (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowCitations and abstracts of scholarly, peer-reviewed articles and professional association news and information for thousands of publications. Covers nursing and 17 allied health disciplines, going as far back as 1937. Links to PDFs or full text for Northeastern-subscribed journals.
Legal Databases
- Westlaw Campus Research This link opens in a new windowSearch federal and state court cases, statutes and codes as well as European Union laws and regulations. Secondary sources include the American Law Reports and the American Jurisprudence encyclopedia, law reviews, journals, and newspapers.
- Tutorials: Find cases and articles in Westlaw (video) or see a PDF version
- HeinOnline This link opens in a new windowHeinOnline is available courtesy of the Northeastern School of Law Library.
Full text legal documents including regulations and other government publications, reports, Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS) and UN Treaty series, and law reviews and journals. - Law360 This link opens in a new windowAvailable courtesy of the Northeastern School of Law Library.
Up-to-date legal news focusing on business law.
Public Policy Databases
- Policy File (Proquest) This link opens in a new windowU.S. foreign and domestic policy papers and gray literature, PolicyFile is updated weekly with abstracts and links to the latest reports, papers, and documents from think tanks, research institutes, and agencies.
- Policy Commons This link opens in a new windowReports, working papers, policy briefs, data, and audio and visual media drawn from a directory of thousands of government, nongovernment, and intergovernmental institutions and research centers.
Center for Atypical Language Interpreting at Northeastern
- Center for Atypical Language Interpreting (CALI)Northeastern University’s American Sign Language and Interpreting Education Program was awarded a U.S. Department of Education Rehabilitation Services Administration grant to build on the successes of the Center for Atypical Language Interpreting (CALI). The project addresses the growing demand for interpreters with specialized skills to serve Deaf and DeafBlind persons with atypical language.
- CALI Annotated BibliographyBrowse continually updated material related to language use by signers and interpreting for signers who use wide variations of sign language.
Sign Languages Profiles
- Ethnologue : Languages of the World This link opens in a new windowReview profiles with basic information for a variety of language families, including sign languages. Profiles include information on estimated user population, locations spoken, dialects, typology, and more.
Research Methods
- Sage Research Methods This link opens in a new windowFamiliarize yourself with various research methods through short entries, books, dictionary definitions, case studies, and more.