English: Literature, Rhetoric, and Composition : 19th Century / Victorian

Covers 1872 - 1996. Both full page and article digital images in PDF format, with searchable full text back to the first issue.

Collection of both edited and unedited texts by women writing in English from the 17th through the 19th century. Browsable by author/title; full-text searching also available. Supported by the Beck Center at Emory University.

Both full page and article digital images in PDF format, with searchable full text back to the first issue. Covers 1851-2017.

Rich primary source database with over 150,000 pages of diaries and letters from 1,325 women, colonial to 1950. Keyword-searchable and with some pre-selected sub-collections of primary sources arranged around important historical events. Also includes author biographies an

London Times from 1785 to 1985 not including the Sunday edition. Wide history of 18th, 19th, and 20th centuries, with applicability in literary, women's, and postcolonial studies. Find reviews of authors' works as published during their lifetime.

Early modern women's writings from 1400 to 1850. Includes searchable full-text of books, poetry, and speeches as well as browse by date, author, and title.

30+ million records from over 2,000 cultural institutions in Europe, constantly growing. Paintings, sketchbooks, manuscripts, journals -- almost any type of primary source.

Over 7 million records from 1,200 cultural institutions in the U.S., constantly growing. Paintings, sketchbooks, manuscripts, journals -- almost any type of primary source.

Includes historic U.S. Newspapers, links to international collections, photographs, early sound recordings, manuscripts, and former American Memory collections. Of course, very strong in U.S. history, but also with holdings from various historical eras in other countries.

Make sure to use the yellow log-in button and select Northeastern. Millions of digitized titles from around the world, covering the 15th to 21st centuries. A Google Books for academic libraries, with a good amount of full-text access for public domain items.

Sketches from Leonardo da Vinci, Shakespeare folios, the original Alice's Adventures in Wonderland, Blake's notebooks, the Ramayana, and more. Also see their Digitised Manuscripts, Online Exhibits, and Highlights Tour.

International in scope, one of the largest directories of which newspapers have been digitized. Some may be paid access only -- if you need a particular title first check here to see if it's been digitized, and then contact the Northeastern library to see if we have access or can locate a local library with access.

A listing of over 35,000 free books on the web, maintained by the University of Pennsylvania Libraries. Also includes listings of online serials (magazines, journals, newspapers, newsletters, etc.)

Of China, India, France, Australia... always try a search for the national or regional libraries in your area of focus.

Yellowbacks were cheap, 19th century British literature sold at railway book stalls, with colorful, sensational covers to attract buyers. Some were well-known books such as “Sense and Sensibility,” but many were obscure titles by authors unknown nowadays. Emory librarians note that yellowbacks "were the equivalent of a popular novel you’d read on a plane today, and "an aspect of 19th century life that’s disappeared." Easiest access is through the Internet Archive.

Full-text and keyword-searchable digital collection of approximately 52 published works by 19th-century black women writers. Part of the Digital Schomburg, supported by the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture and the New York Public Library.

An electronic archive of American poetry prior to 1920, largely focused on the 19th century with some 18th and early 20th century texts. Full-text searchable.

Public access to the literature and history of the antislavery movement, representing "the origins of multicultural literature in the United States". Based at Arizona State and Iowa State, with plans to digitize additional resources in the future, it includes children's literature, slave narratives, poetry, prose, newspapers, and more.

From the UC-Davis University Library, an online scholarly archive of poetry by British and Irish women written between 1789 and 1832.

A comprehensive literary archive of the 19th century: thousands of letters written by Scottish author and historian Thomas Carlyle and his wife, Jane Welsh Carlyle, to over six hundred recipients throughout the world. Provided by Duke Univ Press.

Collection of both edited and unedited texts by women writing in English from the 17th through the early 20th century. Browsable by author/title; full-text searching also available. Supported by the Beck Center at Emory University.

Digitized runs (at least 20 years) of three 18th century and three 19th century journals. From the Universities of Birmingham, Leeds, Manchester and Oxford.

Aggregates high-quality web resources in the 19th century by providing peer-review of digital resources and archives created by scholars in nineteenth-century studies. Thereby provides a model for peer review of digital sources as well as other digital humanities projects in text analysis, online collection and publication, game spaces, and more . Some resources will require InterLibrary Loan to get full text.

From Tufts University, searchable full-text historical resources. The focus is not on "literature" per se, but published and non-published nonfiction.

Approximately 10,000 books and 50,000 journal articles from the 19th century, forming a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. From the University of Michigan and Cornell University.

Catalog of digital historical newspapers, developed by the University of Florida Libraries. Links to over 1000 full-text newspaper titles with a goal to include links to as many US and Caribbean newspapers as possible.

From Indiana University, with a focus on "the exposure of lesser-known British women writers of the 19th century". Includes multiple genres from books to religious tracts to histories and more.

Full-text collection of 19th century American fiction as listed in Lyle Wright’s bibliography American Fiction, 1851-1875. Over 2,500 volumes, "attempts to include every novel published in the United States from 1851 to 1875."